Skip to content

Handmade Ornaments

December 31, 2009

Laura’s Blog Entry

Finally, finally I can post this little project! I have been dying to share it but I didn’t want to ruin the surprise for the recipients.

In the fall I saw that Alicia Paulson of the Posy Gets Cozy blog had designed some truly stunning ornaments. She sold a limited quantity of the kits to make them. Luckily, she is still selling the patterns on her site, if you want to get a head start for next year.

A Walk in the Woods

Ice Skating Afternoon

I began this project after Thanksgiving and finished up right before Christmas. I cannot tell you exactly how many hours I spent, but it was significant. Working a few hours here and there it took three to four days per ornament.

The kits were lovely! So wonderful to have all the materials packaged together so concisely. All I needed was some glue, fiberfill, scissors, needles, specialty marking pens, etc. The instructions we clear and complete – although I would stress that this is an ADVANCED project. If you have never done any embroidery, I would not start with something like this. The stitching has to be very precise, and felt is not very forgiving. You can only redo something a couple of time before the fabric is trashed.

I did have some trouble getting the transfer pencil to work. It could just be the pencil that got at Jo Ann Fabrics, but I ended up using a fine mechanical pencil and tracing paper to poke out the main points of the design and then free-handing it. That was probably the most challenging part of the project.

One other tip I have is that when constructing the front and back of each ornament, construct the front first, and then lay the back pieces on the finished front as you construct those. That way they will match exactly when you go to sew them together.

I just can’t express how beautifully detailed these are. I hope they will become family heirlooms.

One final gift note… I came up with a cheap and cheerful giftwrap for the cookies I sent in for Mari’s teachers.

Brown lunch bags wrapped in ribbon and secured with a staple. Switch out the ribbon and it could work year round.

Well as fun as all the hand sewing has been, I am so happy to be back to my knitting. I am sewing on the sleeves to my sweater and should have it done in the next few days. I have also resumed work on the Napalese Tote Bag and I’m up to the last bit of banding around the top. Does anyone else get as big a thrill out of project completion as I do?

Leave a Reply

