Skip to content

Knitted Cowl

December 30, 2009

Laura’s Blog Entry

Hope everyone is having a wonderful holiday season. We’ve  returned from our travels and now we’ve got one more day of celebrating ahead. Then back to the normal routine. I for one will be glad to resume some normalcy. The best thing for me about a change in routine is that it makes me appreciate the regular, day to day rhythm of our lives. I’m floating around ideas for a “New Year, New Start” kind of post, but in the meantime, I’ll wrap up the holidays with some photos of handmade gifts.

I made a lovely little neck cowl for my sister.

I used a relatively new yarn on the market, Mission Falls 136 Merino Superwash. It’s kind of between a sport weight and a worsted. Very, very soft and perfect for a cowl. And I ended up with enough leftover yarn to make one for myself in the near future.

The pattern, Stacked Eyelet Cowl by Ami Madison, is free. You can get to it on Ravelry or through this direct link.

I found it very helpful to look at all the versions people posted on Ravelry to decide how many stitches to cast on. I started over once and ended up with 96 stitches. It was nice with four repeats, but I think I will try to get five the next time for a little extra fabric.

Wish I had one to wear today. It is fecking freezing here in Ohio. And I am wearing a turtleneck plus a hoodie sweater. Time for the indoor scarf!

Next up, hand-sewn and embroidered ornaments! Stay tuned!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Erin Campbell permalink
    January 8, 2010 11:16 pm

    Fabulous! Wish my knitting skills were that good!!

Leave a Reply

