Skip to content

Knitter’s Almanac

March 10, 2008

Laura’s Blog Entry

As planned, the snowy weekend was a knitting triumph. And the highlight was finishing these freakin’ cute baby booties for my friend Susan.

She is giving them as a gift. (Is it wrong to say baby booties are “freakin’ cute”? I’m spending too much time on the internets and have lost touch with what is proper terminology for a lady to use when she describes her knitting.)

I got the free pattern here. If you are registered on the site, just search the Pattern Finder for Glamour-Baby’s First Booties. I used Lion Brand Cashmere Blend. Loved it. Very soft!

I also applied my brain to turning the heels on the Crazy Socks.

They are by no means perfect, but I am happy with how they turned out. Now I can knit until the yarn runs out and then bind them off. I am already planning my next socks. I have three colors of Knitpicks Palette, and I think I will do a two-color sock – with contrasting heel and toe. And some kind of stitch pattern. Oooo… now that’s crazy!

Finally, I am nearly finished with the Garter Stitch Scarf I am doing with leftover yarn.

Although I think it’s going to end up being two rows short on the olive green. That’s a color I’ll use for future felting projects, so I can justify buying another skein. But two rows short. Bummer.

The verigated rows are Patons SWS – Soy Wool Stripes yarn. I really love the look of the soy yarn. Maybe not for a whole project, but as an accent it is really beautiful. It has a really long color repeat, which makes the shading very subtle. I will say that it is very shreddy as well as slippery. This makes it a bit fussy to knit, although not terrible difficult. It just slowed me down.

I am still working on the coasters for my Etsy project. I have one more set to do, and then I will be ready to felt them. Can’t wait to get those up for sale so I can start working on the next idea in the queue – the tote and handbag project.  I want to use recycled jeans as the basis for them and then decorate them with skulls and other embellishments. For a second you were thinking, “Sounds like a 1970’s do-it-yourself Seventeen Magazine project,” until I said skulls… am I right?  I live to throw you off, my bloglings. Stay tuned.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2008 11:00 am

    You’re talented! Nice work.

  2. jackalberson permalink
    March 11, 2008 12:08 pm

    You’re a knitting fiend! Nice work. And I’m totally with you on skulls – they make everything better. 🙂

  3. susan permalink
    March 11, 2008 4:01 pm

    The booties made the blog! I leave on Thursday to give the booties to little Soren… I bet he’ll love them.

Leave a Reply

