Skip to content

Blogs I Read: Food

March 12, 2008

Laura’s Blog Entry

Today I thought I would get started on something I’ve been planning to write about for a while. I love reading blogs. Food blogs, knitting blogs, craft blogs, personal blogs, my friends’ blogs, design blogs, personal productivity blogs, and other blogs I can’t even categorize. One entry will not be enough for this, so I think I will do it by blog topics. Won’t this be fun? Heck yeah!

In no particular order, here are some food related blogs I enjoy. They aren’t always just about food, but I have gotten yummy recipes from all of them.

Christabelle.com
This is the blog of the lovely Christa from the band Hungry Lucy. She is an experienced cook, gardener and photographer (and singer.) She writes about all those things on her blog. I love to hear her talk about what he has been cooking on their band podcast, “Tea with Hungry Lucy.” She has educated me in the ways of the vegetarian. Her Spiced Banana Bread is tasty!

Theknittingcook.com

Faith is a knitter, cook, and mother of three living abroad. A brave and daring soul, she is. She also has a podcast, “The Knitting Cook,” but has taken a bit of time off from podcasting after the birth of her daughter. I have especially enjoyed her recipe for Honey Wheat Bread. Mari loves it! It has tons of whole wheat in it, and oatmeal, but it stays soft and doesn’t weigh 100 pounds. Here’s a photo from the last time I made it:

It rose to extreme heights!

And finally,

Thefoodsex.com
I’ve mentioned this one before. It is new to me, but I love it! Vegan… who knew it could be tasty! I made the Miso Soup and it rocks! It would be a great soup to eat when you have a bad cold – tons of nutritious veggies and lots of black pepper to clear those sinuses! I destroyed its vegan-ness by using a combo of chicken broth and a beef bouillon cube (horrors!) The recipe calls for vegetable broth. Plus no chick peas for me, please.

Miso and soba noodles weren’t the easiest things to find, but I did get them at our Whole Foods Market. The miso was back in the refrigerated section.

If anyone has a good recipe for vegetable broth I’d love to try it. I really want to master vegetable broth this year. I made some last fall, and it was just OK. Kinda bland. No matter what I put in it seems to taste like onion water. Or do you know of a good store brand? Suggestions welcome.

Better get this posted if I want a few minutes of knitting before the afternoon job as chauffeur starts. Why don’t you go have a snack until I get back, K?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2008 8:38 am

    You had to post another bread recipe….ARGHH! Now I have to try it. Question…do you hand knead or do you let your Kitchen-Aid do the work?

  2. March 13, 2008 8:54 am

    Sorry! But this one is better for you with all the whole grain. I always use the Kitchen Aid. Always. Then I give it a few hand kneads at the end to make sure it “feels” right.

    If you try this one, the gluten is absolutely necessary. I found it in the baking aisle with all the soy flour and other weird baking ingredients. I think my package says “Vital Wheat Gluten Flour.” Keep it in the freezer so it will last a long time, especially down there in sunny FL!

    I let it knead for 6 minutes and it worked perfectly.

  3. March 14, 2008 9:31 am

    That Spiced Banana Bread recipe looks *awesome*. It’s now on my to-cook list.

  4. March 17, 2008 10:10 pm

    I let my mixer do most of the kneading as well.

    Glad you liked thefoodsex.com. She’s a wonderful writer and a very good cook.

  5. Venus permalink
    March 23, 2008 4:05 pm

    My bread always come out too short. I’m going to try the Honey Wheat, it looks gorgeous. I saw Mr. Bee’s loaf and I’m super jealous.

    I may need to call you so you can hold my hand. You and Nic are my kitchen inspirations. *love*

    INUIY, soon? Miss you!

  6. March 23, 2008 8:24 pm

    Venus – I’ve got lots of tips for taller bread!

    I await the coveted call to be on your show! If that Nicole chick will have me back… hee hee.

    *love*

  7. April 25, 2008 6:50 am

    Hi Laura!

    Just thought I’d say thanks for the mention, again, and leave my 2 cents on Veggie broth/stock. I’ve never made it, but I use “Kitchen Basics” in the green box. Veg broth is something I’d like to master as well but haven’t had the patience to do it yet. Jungle Jim’s is my source for nearly everything Vegetarian…and sometimes Whole Foods. Miso, Soba and the broth are all available there. Obviously, the Miso and Soba are in the Asian sections. You may have to go to a few aisles, but I do know FOR SURE they have both. The natural section of JJ’s (my second home) also has Miso and Soba. Just thought you’d want to know.

    Keep up the amazing Blog-ness!!!

    Take care,

    Christa Belle

Trackbacks

  1. How To Lose the First Two Weeks of August « The Smiths’ Occasional Blog

Leave a Reply

