Skip to content

Yarn Along – 10/9/13

October 9, 2013

Laura’s Blog Post

Joining Ginny in her Yarn Along today.

I am in the home stretch with the Acer Cardigan (Ravelry link). A beautiful cabled cardigan for fall. I’ve got the body done and almost one sleeve. Yay! Love the warm brown. I am once again using Berroco Vintage. This time in worsted weight and color 5179 brown. I hope to finish it in a couple of weeks.

I am listening to an audio book, Joy for Beginners, by Erica Bauermeister. It begins with a group of women at a celebratory dinner for Kate, who is a cancer survivor. When Kate agrees to go on a whitewater rafting trip at the suggestion of the others, she then issues challenges for each of them to complete. I enjoyed the story and getting to know the characters. It is a light and uplifting story. Next up I am listening to Catching Fire, alongside Mari as we read it before the movie comes out!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2013 9:22 am

    That cardi looks beautiful! Great Autumn color too. Can’t wait to see you share the finished thing!

    • October 9, 2013 11:10 am

      Thanks! Ran into a snag last night with the sleeve caps. Need to decrease faster for my short arms. I’ll be doing some math today!

  2. October 9, 2013 11:00 am

    I really want to read Cathching Fire. I think I want to actually “read” that one instead of listen, but I’m fearful that I won’t get it done in time.

    • October 9, 2013 11:11 am

      Yeah, I realized I’d never make it if I read the book! I love the reader on the audio book versions. I listened to the first one as well. Good luck! And may the odds be ever in your favor!

  3. October 9, 2013 3:41 pm

    Beautiful color for your cardigan. Catching Fire is a really good book. Enjoy!

Leave a comment