Skip to content

Acer Cardigan

October 29, 2013

Laura’s Blog Post

Bingo! Done!

After a few set-backs, my fall sweater is done – actually in time for fall! There’s a first time for everything!

The pattern is the Acer Cardigan (Ravelry link), designed by Amy Christoffers. It was inspired by the bark of Sugar Maple trees – Acer Saccharum. I knit it in my old standby: Berroco Vintage, this time in worsted. Color is 5179, a lovely russet shade of brown. Yarn is a very affordable wool/acrylic blend with a touch of heathering.

The pattern is knit bottom up in one piece. Keeping the two charts straight required a learning curve for me. As usual, it took a bit to get acclimated to the cable patterning. After a while I could read the knitting and keep myself on track.

I rate it at a medium difficulty bordering on difficult. Not all techniques were spelled out in detail, which is fine if you’ve done them before. Might be quite challenging for someone who hasn’t combined cable patterns with shaping in the same garment before.

My biggest issue happened when I attempted to attach the sleeves without blocking first. Silly rookie mistake! It was a bit snug. When I attempted to take the sleeve off I caused some damage which required reknitting one shoulder front and the top of one arm. Live and learn. Won’t forget next time!

I love the buttons! I got them at JoAnn Fabrics. The are 3/4” faux wood from La Mode, style #29228. I don’t like a lot of contrast with buttons. These have just a touch of interest.

Hands up if you think this needs a coordinating pair of brown leather boots! Yes! That’s what I thought!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mum permalink
    October 29, 2013 1:32 pm

    Wow! A work of art. Mum

  2. October 29, 2013 6:32 pm

    Oh, what a beautiful sweater…nice job!

Leave a Reply

