Skip to content

Yarn Along – 6/4/14

June 4, 2014

Laura’s Blog Entry

Does anyone else get really happy when your knitting matches your reading? These sock look perfect with Soulless by Gail Carriger!

I am dipping my toe into reading some contemporary Steampunk literature. Contemporary, meaning it was written recently. EVERYONE knows that steampunk novels are set in 19th Century, whether it is Victorian England or the American “Wild West.” Or at least I know, now that I’ve read Wikipedia.

Recently I tried some “classic” steampunk writing, and it wasn’t my cup of tea. Too many steam powered machines. Not enough vampires.

This first novel in the Alexia Tarabotti series seems to resolve those issues for me. As you can see I am delving deep for my summer reading selections. I haven’t started it yet, so I will let you know how it goes!

The sock is the Duckies pattern by Samantha Hayes. Enjoying it a lot. Haven’t done a top-down sock in some time. The heel turn was a breeze! Racing to the toe and then I will be on to sock #2. Yarn is Manos del Uruguay Alegria in color 9453 Macachines. Which sounds kind of like machines, doesn’t it? A steampunk sock, perhaps? Gotta love the symmetry of that!

Joining Ginny.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2014 1:08 pm

    Have not tried steam punk, but it seems everyone is talking about it, so I must try it. The socks look gorgeous!

    • June 4, 2014 1:31 pm

      Thanks! I would recommend something more contemporary like this. I have now read a few pages and it seems like a clever and fun read.

Leave a comment