Skip to content

BBQ Chicken Pizza

June 2, 2014

Laura’s Blog Entry

Thanks for all the nice comment on the last few posts! I thought I would share my recipe for the pizza I shared. It requires a little prep time, but isn’t too complicated. If you already make homemade pizza, it will be pretty easy.

I previously shared the crust recipe I use here. I make a double batch and get 6 medium size crusts. These are frozen as dough balls so they are ready to go with around 3 hours thawing time on the counter.

BBQ Chicken Pizza – Regular Flour Crust

You could make this on a Boboli crust and I bet it would still be good!

Regarding the paleo/grain-free version that I eat, the crust recipe I have been using for awhile is this one I found on Pinterest. It has an almond flour base which is lightened with some arrowroot powder. It’s the best I’ve found so far. I’ve tasted some rather bad grain-free crusts. This has a nice texture, gets crispy and has a good flavor from the spices.

Grain-free BBQ Chicken Pizza

I divide the batter into three individual pizzas, pre-bake them on parchment-lined baking sheets and freeze them as well. This make homemade pizza night (usually Fridays) fairly simple.

OK here’s the recipe. It works for either crust. I don’t measure anything. I just wing it and go by what looks good.

BBQ Chicken Pizza

Pizza Dough
BBQ Sauce (We like our local Montgomery Inn sauce. It is mild and sweet,  but use what you like.)
Sliced Onion
Olive Oil
Shredded Cooked Chicken (A prepared rotisserie chicken works great!)
Shredded Mozzarella Cheese

Preheat oven to whatever temperature is needed for the crust you have selected.

Caramelized Onion:
Heat a skillet over medium heat. When hot, add a small amount of oil. Separate slices of onion and drop into the hot pan. Allow to saute without touching until the onion is well browned and caramelized. Flip using a spatula to do the same on the other side of the onion. Set aside to cool.

Toss shredded chicken in a bowl with a bit of the sauce. It doesn’t have to be saturated, just a light coating so it doesn’t dry out while baking.

Prepare pizza dough on a baking sheet. Top with a thin layer of BBQ sauce. Spread on a generous layer of mozzarella cheese. Top with chicken mixture and caramelized onion.

Bake as a regular pizza. I like to get the cheese all bubbly and starting to brown.

Let it rest a few minutes before cutting.

Let me know if you give it a try!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2014 9:14 am

    Yummy this pizza looks really delicious! 🙂

Leave a Reply

