Skip to content

Void Shawl

November 22, 2016

This is a very exciting finish. This is the first project I have knit from my handspun after getting my spinning wheel!

The pattern is Void by Melanie Berg. The yarn is worsted weight handspun from Fiber Optic Yarns. It is a dreamy merino/silk blend that spun up in a wonderful heathered gray.

The lattice pattern is fairly complex. The use of stitch markers was critical for me. But with all complicated patterns, It got easier the more repeats I knit. I reduced the length of the shawl – it is designed extremely long and I am fairly short so I knew the proportions would be off if I made if full size.

I did add extra rows of garter edging to made the shawl deeper. I wanted full coverage across the back.

Very happy with this one. The yarn is very squishy and super warm.

I am inspired to do a sweater spin, but I will need to wait until the budget allows that kind of investment. For now I will be knitting a couple of sock yarn projects I have begun spinning for.

Much more affordable to spin for socks!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

