Skip to content

Summer Sweater

August 5, 2016

I was looking to do a light sweater for warmer weather. I decided on just a basic shape and a pattern I knit a while back as one of my first sweaters. The first one didn’t have a very nice fit, but the basic shape was good. I decided to put math to work for me and come up with the perfect gauge. The pattern is the Weekend Retreat Cardi by Lion Brand Yarn. 

I chose the yarn on vacation – very affordable Cascade Avalon in color 35. The yarn is a cotton/acrylic blend and feels quite nice. It was easy to work with and not at all hard on my hands like a 100% cotton can be.

I only have one other cropped sweater so I thought this would be a nice addition, layered over a tank for warm weather.

I cast on for size medium and tried it on as I went. I could tell it was a good size before I even increased to the stitch count for the small size. Details on the math can be found on my Ravelry project page.

I finished it up with a single button I had in my stash. I made a closure using a crocheted loop. Link to instructions for that are on my Ravelry project page.

I am super happy with the way this turned out. The fit is just right – not too loose or tight. I now see the appeal of cropped sweaters. They knit up so fast in a worsted weight!

Kind of thinking it would be nice to have another in a fingering weight with three-quarter sleeves. It would take some more math, but I enjoy a challenge!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

