Skip to content

Yarn Along 1/27/16

January 27, 2016

24019563183_9fdf4d1efe

I finished up a pair of socks I was working on in September. This is an improvised pattern. I had an idea of a strip of reverse stockinette running down the front and back of the legs.

The yarn is Knit Picks Hawthorne Fingering in color Laurelhurst. It is an early fall, green and golden colorway. The textured worked nicely to break up any pooling. Cause I am not a fan of the pooling!

24019563123_458e2270cd

These socks are toe up with an afterthought heel, which is totally my favorite construction.

I am thinking of putting this out as a pattern. Anyone interested? I think it would be a freebie, just in one size. Let me know what you think!

Right now I am just starting to read the second in the Inspector Gamache mystery series, A Fatal Grace, by Louise Penny. At least in the first chapter it seems it is going to be a cozy, wintery story, perfect for January.

Joining Ginny and friends in the Yarn Along.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2016 12:32 pm

    amazing!

  2. Tagati permalink
    January 27, 2016 2:28 pm

    Please add me to the list as I think that’s a great pattern. Luv me some texture!

  3. January 27, 2016 5:16 pm

    They look lovely, reminds me a bit of the Rye socks pattern but that’s garter stitch rather than reverse stockinette. Isn’t it funny how a fairly simple change can make such a difference to how something looks

    • January 28, 2016 11:35 am

      Yes! I ran across that one when I was looking for a pattern for what I had in my head. I think those are with a worsted weight, but they are similar. The texture is a bit finer in reverse stockinette. Good eye!

  4. January 28, 2016 11:17 am

    I have always wanted to try Knit Picks Hawthrone yarn. Yours looks beautiful knit up! 🙂

  5. January 29, 2016 4:37 pm

    I’m not a sock knitter (because I’m pathetic & can never actually finish both socks, so I guess I’m a one-sock knitter), but I love the color you used–Laurelhurst is a fantastic colorway! Hope you write up your pattern. 🙂

    • January 29, 2016 5:14 pm

      Thanks! And do I have a tip for you! I just tried this on my last pair and they flew… You cast on both socks and then alternate between the two. The toe of one, then the toe of the other, etc. It takes an extra set of needles, but I found it to be super fast – gained magical momentum or something! It’s much easier than two socks on two circulars, which I found slow because of all the yarn getting tangled.

Leave a Reply

