Skip to content

Yarn Along – 1/6/16

January 6, 2016

I don’t know what my deal is, but not only did I do the Advent Scarf Knitalong in December, but on Christmas Eve I joined with Little Bobbins Knits for the Christmas Eve Cast On for a pair of sock. Crazy! And I thought I wasn’t much of a “joiner!”

I’m sure it was only a momentary lapse. I’ll be back to my solitary knitting soon.

23570426654_c8a18c1dee

(Pardon the kitty butt above.)

I cast on a pair of socks in Knitpicks Felici sock yarn in the colorway, Baker Street. Oh so British. The colors are great! 

I am using my own sock recipe for a toe-up sock with an afterthought heel. I aligned the skeins before starting so the stripes would match perfectly. Sweet!

I tried putting a few purl stitches on the sides this time to see if I could get a nice, snug fit.

Something else I tried was to cast on both socks at the same time. I stole this idea from Dani of Little Bobbins. I am using two circular needles (size 0) per sock. One pair are Addi Turbos and the others are Karbonz. Both are great. The Karbonz are maybe a tad pointier, but the Addi’s are still pretty great.

It is an incentive to work on one sock for awhile and then catch the other one up. I may stick with this technique. It does help them to match better too, because I don’t have to remember from one sock to the next what I did.

Don’t ask me about the reading. The Fangirl audiobook I was listening to expired before I could finish, but I just got it back. Meanwhile I am listening to a mediocre historical fiction story that turned out to be about vampires. Seriously. I wasn’t looking for vampires. I can’t really recommend it so I won’t both you with the details. It helps pass the time while I am cutting fabric.

Hope you are having a lovely start to the new year. I am trying to transition gracefully. It’s 90% intention, right? (I hope so!)

Joining Ginny and friends in the Yarn Along.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2016 1:22 pm

    Great looking socks, love the colour. I might try knitting both socks at the same time – it is a good idea.
    Caz xx

  2. harknessangels permalink
    January 6, 2016 10:52 pm

    Fantastic socks! Love that colorway! I like to knit my socks concurrently too….definitely lessens the second sock syndrome. Happy Knitting!

  3. January 7, 2016 8:08 am

    Socks look great! Good choice of colours too! And the kitty in the background is just great too! Love his/her colour too!

  4. January 10, 2016 8:26 am

    Lovely sock yarn, I wonder why the name?

Leave a Reply

