Skip to content

Carrie’s Wrap

December 18, 2015

I finally finished something I can share! I have been making gifts all summer and fall and don’t want to post them until after Christmas. But this I can post!

23167781404_6cfb60b7f2

Pattern is Carrie’s Wrap, by Sally Melville from the book, Knitting Pattern Essentials: Adapting and Drafting Knitting Patterns for Great Knitwear. Yarn is Juniper Moon Farm Moonshine in Color 14, Popsicle. It’s a 40% alpaca, 40% wool, 20% silk blend. Dreamy!

23167781314_7672d8a0c2

The yarn makes this sweater. It needs to be in a fluffy, squishy yarn. The pattern calls for a bulky, but I couldn’t find anything I liked that was affordable, so I went with a worsted that I scored at a fabulous sale.

23769820356_63f99a22bb

I love the slant to the hem of this design. Very cool!

Modifications:

Since I used a lighter weight yarn, I went up two size to compensate. I found that I was getting the measurements of the small by knitting the large size.

I did modify the sleeve a bit. the cuff was way too tight, even at the largest size written. Instead I cast on 30 stitches and increased up to 52 to get something to fit me. This is still quite fitted on my arms. Unless your arms are super skinny, I would check the measurements on the schematic before knitting.

Other than that, I knit it exactly as written. It was fun doing the shawl collar. That was a new one for me.

23500230610_16566e4c4b

There is no closure, so a shawl pin is needed. I think the stick pin works perfectly. It was a gift from my master knitting friend, Padgy.

I enjoyed this knit a lot. It was so fast compared to socks! I may need to find something else to knit in this yarn. I thought I wanted to do a lace weight sweater next, but maybe not… We shall see…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 18, 2015 12:24 pm

    This is beautiful!!! I love the shawl pin too!

Leave a Reply

