Skip to content

Yarn Along – 11/18/15

November 18, 2015

Just time for a quick check in. I am working hard to prepare for my first craft fair and have been focusing on that!

I have made some progress on the sweater. It is all seamed and waiting for me to have some uninterrupted time to pick up the stitches for the collar and facing ribbing. The fit seems good! And the yarn is dreamy soft.

Pattern is Carrie’s Wrap, by Sally Melville from the book, Knitting Pattern Essentials. Yarn is Juniper Moon Farm Moonshine.

I started a new audiobook and I’m rather disappointed. It’s a YA post-apocalyptic story called The Forest of Hands and Teeth, by Carrie Ryan. The synopsis sounded interesting, but about a third of the way in I am giving up. The writing just isn’t quite up to par. The story is OK, but I find the descriptions tedious and the dialog just not good. I hate to be negative, but this really didn’t engage me at all. Basically it seems like a zombie version of Twilight. Not that the main character falls in love with a zombie. At least not in the first third. On top of all that, the audiobook performance was not up to my expectations, either.  Anyway, can’t recommend this one. I’ll have to do a library search and see what I can find that’s available. I have lots of work to do and it goes so much faster with a book to listen to!

Joining Ginny and friends in the Yarn Along.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2015 10:19 am

    Lovely sweater and good luck at the craft fair! Thanks for sharing.

  2. November 18, 2015 12:52 pm

    You are getting so close with your sweater! I hate when a book is disappointing. I had to give up on my last one too.

    • November 18, 2015 1:54 pm

      I know! I can almost taste victory! Funny, I haven’t had a dud of a book in awhile, so I was due. Luckily I don’t feel like I invested too much time. Got a new audiobook today and I am back in business!

  3. November 18, 2015 3:18 pm

    What a beautiful sweater! That colour is adorable! How disappointing to be reading or listening to a bad book. But better to stop now than keep beeing disappointed! Good luck for the fair!

Leave a Reply

