Skip to content

Hat for the Sedate of Style

March 31, 2015

Laura’s Blog Entry

What’s the best way to hurry the arrival of spring? Knit a heavy aran weight beanie, of course! That guarantees the recipient will get no chance to wear said hat until fall.

Neil’s hats were looking a bit worn, so I dove into my left-over yarn bin, determined to come out with something suitable to make a new one.

What I found was a bit of black Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride Bulky along with some partial skeins of Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool XL. The colors were great together. If you are a guy who wears mostly black… and gray.

I went with the Regular Guy Beanie, a free pattern by Chuck Wright.

I worked out some nice striping to make the yarn quantities work out. Details are on my Ravelry project page if you are interested.

I ended up holding two strands of the Silky Wool together to get a gauge similar to the Lamb’s Pride Bulky. It felt a bit bullet-proof during knitting, but I knew a washing would soften the yarn.

It was nice to whip up a quick project in a short amount of time for a change. Hats are good like that. Now… back to the lace weight shawl. I am 30% done with it. Slooooowly making progress.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

