Skip to content

Yarn Along – 3/5/15

March 4, 2015

Laura’s Blog Entry

Almost there! Gotta finish this sucker up! Only about ¼ of the back to go and then it’s done. It’s at this point in a project when I sometimes need a little incentive to finish.

And here it is: incentive in the form of Knitpicks Hawthorn Fingering weight yarn in color Vancouver.

I have wound the skein into two balls of yarn, just waiting to become my next socks.

My cat is rather enamored with my new Yarn Buddy. Does he look like he is imagining mischief, or is it just me?

Anyway, a Yarn Buddy is a lazy susan for yarn. It unspools as you knit – with a whisper of spinning ball bearings. My friend Melanie bought one and I had follow suit. It’s her fault! Once I realized it could help me with plying my yarn from my drop spindle I had the excuse I needed!

Off to finish up my sweater. Hope I have some socks started for next week’s yarn along!

Joining Ginny and some other lovely knitters.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2015 11:09 am

    A beautiful project and very pretty incentive 🙂
    I’ve never seen a Yarn Buddy before – it looks (and sounds) very tempting.

  2. March 4, 2015 11:18 am

    Wow! I love that Yarn Buddy, how beautiful is that?! Happy sweater-finishing!!

  3. March 4, 2015 11:39 am

    Ooh, your yarn buddy is very lovely (I’d say the cat is imagining mischief, but then i always think that about cats!) as is the yarn. That looks like a great incentive to press onwards!

  4. Tagati permalink
    March 4, 2015 11:57 am

    Any chance you’d do a tutorial on using your yarn buddy to ply yarn?

    • March 4, 2015 1:20 pm

      I’d be happy to! Once I try out my theory and see if it works! I’m thinking of using it to chain ply – which I have never done before. Then I’d only have to manage one strand to make a 3-ply. It is all very theoretical at this point! 🙂

  5. March 4, 2015 3:01 pm

    Your kitty is looking like he is proud to be showing off his project! I would be anxious to start socks with that yarn as well. It’s beautiful.

  6. March 4, 2015 10:20 pm

    A lazy susan for yarn sounds so cool. I really like that yarn.

  7. March 5, 2015 10:35 am

    Your sweater looks beautiful and your cat is so cute. I loved the pictures – cats have to be right in the center!

Leave a Reply

