Skip to content

Java Socks

December 15, 2014
tags: ,

Laura’s Blog Entry

Oh the knitting! When there is a chill in the air you can bet there is wool on the needles. I’ve got about six things going. Some get more attention than others, but they are all on their way. Here’s a big finish from awhile ago. I finally had time to give them a photo shoot, so now I can wear them. Yay!

These are the Java Socks, a free pattern from Knitty.com. They were designed by Cailyn Meyer. I have admired these for years, but just recently felt my skills were up to the task. I’ve been knitting for eight years now and I found these to be a medium high level of difficulty just due to the intricacy. The pattern is so well written, it made it much easier than it looks.

The teeny, tiny cables are just dreamy!

And the way they wrap the foot and become the gusset… genius!

The yarn is Malabrigo Sock in color 809 Solis. This color is a stunner! I have to say, after doing three or four pairs in this brand, it is not the best wearing yarn. No holes or anything, but even with careful washing and no bare-sock-on-the-floor wearing, there is some felting and color fading on the bottoms. I am going to try some other brands for a bit, but I bet I’ll end up coming back for that amazing color!

These were fun, but I have moved on to some simple socks for awhile. My latest experiment is with an afterthought heel. Spoilers: I am loving it for a number of reasons. More on that when I have a finished pair to share.

Hope you are having time for crafting during this busy month. A knitting break can be a real sanity-saver!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Melanie Moore permalink
    December 16, 2014 11:57 am

    Love those socks!! Be-u-ti-ful!

  2. December 16, 2014 3:36 pm

    Thanks Melanie!

Leave a Reply

