Skip to content

Common Ground Hoodie

September 23, 2014

Laura’s Blog Entry

Finished! In plenty of time for fall!

The pattern is Common Ground by Elizabeth Smith. I decided to make mine a little less fitted and a bit longer in length. Last winter I was craving another sweater like this to bundle up in.

The yarn is Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool XL in color Charcoal. I’ve never used a silk/wool blend before. (It’s 80% wool and 20% silk.) It was a bit dry and papery to knit with, but not unpleasant. It is a bit flat in the skein and not a cushy wool. It did soften up in washing, but still is keeping its shape and not seeming to stretch. We’ll see after some wearing. Hasn’t been cool enough yet to give it a trial run.

I like the simple diamond lace pattern on the main body. It has a gentle shaping and isn’t too boxy in style.

Very happy with this sweater. I think I am getting better at making them fit for me. Now I can move on to some gift knitting. Time to hit the yarn shop. Hooray!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

