Skip to content

Yarn Along – 9/10/14

September 10, 2014

Laura’s Blog Entry

See that sleeve? Soooo close to being done. I just need a nice hour or so to finish it up! And weave in all the ends, of course. And block it. Can’t wait to block it!

I just finished the book, The Gift in You: Discovering New Life Through Gifts Hidden in Your Mind, by Dr. Caroline Leaf. It’s a really interesting book about brain function and how to determine how your brain processes information. It also covers scientific data on the effect of toxic thoughts on the brain. Depression, anxiety, all the heavy hitters. Then she talks about how to reprogram your brain for joy as well as better functioning, which appear to be one and the same thing!

I love that she applies scripture to the concepts to show that this information is actually throughout the Bible. I find it fascinating that brain function is in the Bible. I don’t understand when people think the Bible and science are at odds. I’m sure I just opened a huge can of worms for someone, but that’s the way it goes. I’m just getting real around here. I find the intricacies of science only strengthen my faith in the creator of the universe.

Anyhoo, hope you are reading and/or knitting something enjoyable and you have a happy brain!

Joining Ginny.

*****

The Smiths’ Occasional Blog is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com. They don’t tell us what to link to, but they will pay us a teeny tiny percentage if you buy an item we have chosen to feature.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2014 11:23 am

    Beautiful cardi- love the pattern, looks fun..but daunting to knit.

    • September 10, 2014 12:13 pm

      Thanks! It’s actually not super hard, as patterns go. The fact that the body is knit in one piece makes it much easier! I had to concentrate harder during the diamond patterning so I didn’t mess that up. Not a beginner sweater, but more on the moderate level.

  2. September 22, 2014 7:27 pm

    I think I knit that exact same sweater! http://www.lisaclarke.net/2012/02/13/does-this-sweater-make-me-look-fat-and-other-questions-i-really-dont-want-you-to-answer/

    I find I don’t wear it very much. I guess I didn’t expect it to be so bulky. I hope you love yours more than I loved mine 🙂 Yours is a great color!

    • September 22, 2014 9:38 pm

      Yep, it is the same! I think your yarn must be heavier than mine. Mine said Aran, but it honestly looks more like worsted to me. I am hoping the color with be all-purpose and match everything. Sorry you aren’t loving yours – it turned out really nice, though. I love the red!

Leave a Reply

