Skip to content

This Week in My Kitchen – 8/21/14

August 21, 2014

Laura’s Blog Entry

Yes, I am finally back to some regular cooking! We’ve done lots of travel as well as lots of home DIY this summer, which makes it difficult or impossible to do any serious cooking. But I’m back in the flow and mostly my kitchen looks like this during the day:

So much in and out of the pantry and spice cupboard that I just leave them open until I am done.

I made a great breakfast this week, an awesome omlette:

Shallots, mushroom and spinach, a touch of cheese, and a side of guacamole. Rib-sticking goodness!

I also made a batch of individual Grain-free Pizza Crusts. I make homemade pizza almost every week. This is the best-tasting and textured crust I’ve found so far. I linked to it before, but it is worth mentioning again. Grain-free and pizza cravings are a bad combo. If I can help one person I will know that I have lived a life of worth.

This week I did a Chicken Pesto Pizza that was tasty. And I was able to make pesto from the garden. Yay!

The final food highlight from the week, (actually I think it was last week, but who is keeping score) was I tried out a recipe for Grain-free Bagels.

You know I was desperate since I went to Bed, Bath and Beyond to find the special bagel/doughnut pan. Yes, I am going to try making doughnuts, too. Life is too short to not pretend to eat bread.

I did the cinnamon raisin version in the recipe. As you can see, they look great! Can’t say that they are delicious, but the aren’t bad with a smear of cream cheese and a drizzle of honey. It’s nice to have another breakfast option, even if it is labor intensive. I froze half the batch for eating later.

So those are the highlights. Hope you will join Heather and take a look at what everyone else is sharing as well!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2014 9:24 am

    i’m like you, cabinet doors always open. i often think, why do i even have them on at all!? 🙂

  2. August 21, 2014 11:15 pm

    What a beautifully organised kitchen you have! How great that you are able to make pizza without grains, they sound delicious!

    • August 22, 2014 10:17 am

      Thanks! It has been a journey to find recipes I can use, but I’m so glad to have found them!

Leave a Reply

