Skip to content

Yarn Along – 8/20/14

August 20, 2014

Laura’s Blog Entry

I am back to knitting my sweater, although I am still inching along on those socks! This is the Common Ground Hoodie. Yarn and other details are on my Ravelry page. I have finished the body and am working on the hood. Next will be the sleeves and the button band ribbing. I just might have it done for fall!

I recently finished the audiobook that you can’t see in the photo. It is Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore, by Robin Sloan. I loved it! It is a story of a group of friends, told by a guy who gets a job at a mysterious bookstore. It is a present day story with a lot of technology and pop culture references, which is a fun change for me since I’ve been reading lots of historical fiction lately. I thoroughly loved all the characters. It has a vibe similar to the book Microserfs, by Douglas Coupland, if you are familiar with that – another great technology-based fiction story.

This book was so fun that when I finished listening to it I put it on for Neil during a long car trip and listened to the whole thing again. Just as enjoyable the second time!

Oh and I’ve heard that the cover on the book glows in the dark. So cool! Happy reading and knitting!

Joining Ginny.

*****

The Smiths’ Occasional Blog is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com. They don’t tell us what to link to, but they will pay us a teeny tiny percentage if you buy an item we have chosen to feature.

 

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2014 11:56 am

    If you don;t get it finished by autumn, it will be for winter I’m sure smile. Thanks for book recommendations, I’ve added them to my goodreads want to read list.

  2. August 20, 2014 12:04 pm

    I love the sweater and have added it to my queue. It’s always fun finding great new patterns, so thanks for sharing!

  3. August 20, 2014 1:09 pm

    What a beautiful sweater. I really like that pattern. Oh dear – my Ravelry queue is growing again……

  4. August 20, 2014 2:14 pm

    Beautiful! I really like the mix of purl, lace and garter stich – the texture looks lovely!

  5. August 24, 2014 12:36 pm

    Your hoodie is coming along wonderfully. I am sure you will get it finished in time to wear it this year. It is such a pretty pattern.

Leave a Reply

