Skip to content

Yarn Along – 7/9/14

July 9, 2014

Laura’s Blog Entry

Same sock, new book.

Sock details here. Get used to seeing it. I’ll be working on these for awhile!

Listening to Elizabeth Gilbert’s The Signature of All Things: A Novel. It’s well written and has a good flow. Very impressed with her research for this historical fiction. She has lots of botanical information, but not too much. It makes the story interesting. I am halfway through and really wondering what is going to happen to the main character! Warning: This is a LONG book. Luckily it works well in audio format. Another Warning: Don’t listen in the car with the kiddos! Portions are adult in nature.

After I finish I am totally going to look up some interviews with Elizabeth to hear the story behind this novel. Wondering how she even thought of these character and picked this time period!

Hope you have some juicy summer reads going on!

Joining Ginny.

The Smiths’ Occasional Blog is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com. They don’t tell us what to link to, but they will pay us a teeny tiny percentage if you buy an item we have chosen to feature.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2014 10:54 am

    I love your sock yarn. It works great with the pattern. Elizabeth Gilbert is one of my favorite authors. I’m glad to know that books works well on audio. I need to add some books to listen to while I’m knitting.

    • July 9, 2014 10:07 pm

      Thanks! I was happy that the color variation didn’t hide the cables. Hope you enjoy the book!

  2. July 9, 2014 4:16 pm

    Really lovely sock. I can see how those will take a while to do, but the end result will definitely be worth it.

  3. July 9, 2014 8:03 pm

    What a pretty color yarn. From your post, I guess I will get to see it for a while. I will have to look into that book.

  4. July 9, 2014 10:10 pm

    Thanks, ladies!

  5. July 10, 2014 11:52 am

    The yarn color is gorgeous. I received The Signature of All Things from the TED book club and I too am in the process of reading it (very slowly since it has been busy around here). I don’t typically read fiction, but this one has managed to capture my attention.

Leave a Reply

