Skip to content

Deer With Little Antlers Hat

July 7, 2014

Laura’s Blog Entry

Cuteness! Love this hat by Tiny Owl Knits. She’s a genius designer and has tons of magical, girl-in-the-forest type knits.

I used leftover Berroco Vintage Worsted, in 5179 brown, held double, for the body of the hat. I lined the ears and made the antlers from some scraps of Knitpicks Palette. Not sure of the color names on those. So material-wise, this was free! I did pay for the pattern and it was completely worth it. Great attention to detail.

Felting the antlers was kind of fun! You just do it by hand. I didn’t think they were going to look good, but they turned out great!

Mari is happily wearing it with her Mori Girl style clothing she is slowing acquiring through thrifting. Mori Girl originated in Japan. It means Forest Girl. Kind of a sophisticated boho, shabby chic. It’s a nice progression from and more wearable everyday than her previous obsession, Gothic Lolita. Ah fashion. It’s so fun!

I would love to knit Mari this pattern, Gypsy Petticoat, but I fear the yarn cost would be a bit extreme. Might have to investigate though. Always nice to have an appreciative knitwear recipient!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2014 12:15 am

    This is adorable and I just can’t!! I want one!! But I don’t need it in the California summer unless I wanna give myself a heat stroke.
    I have a fashion blog if you’d like to check it out: http://thegeekchickblog.com/
    Camila

    • July 7, 2014 8:46 pm

      Ha! You would get heat stroke. Maybe for that one day when it gets down to 50 degrees? Can’t help it. I’m an enabler!

Leave a Reply

