Skip to content

Yarn Along – 7/2/14

July 2, 2014

Laura’s Blog Entry

New book and a new knitting project this week! And once again, matching is important!

The book is Marie Bostwick’s Between Heaven and Texas (Cobble Court Quilts). I have enjoyed her Cobbled Court quilting series of novels. Just a light summer read. This book shifts the focus from the usual characters to the life and history of a previously side character. I am a few chapters in and I am enjoying it. Sometimes you just need a book that you can fly through!

As soon as the Duckies –  Pretty in Pink socks were done, I had this new pattern cast on. It’s the Java Socks by Cailyn Meyer from Knitty.com. It’s gonna be a challenge, folks. Teeny, tiny cables. All over the sock. So far so good. It’s great knitting to do while watching Turner Classic Movies. Not for during BBC America’s “Orphan Black.” I’d miss too much and man, does that show have its twists and turns! Love it.

Anyway, the yarn is yet another shade of Malabrigo sock, color 809 Solis. Digging the semi-solid color shifting. We’ll see how fast these go. Could take a while.

Joining Ginny.

The Smiths’ Occasional Blog is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com. They don’t tell us what to link to, but they will pay us a teeny tiny percentage if you buy an item we have chosen to feature.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2014 11:02 am

    i made JAVA!! One of my favorite patterns, although you are right, they took a bit longer than some others. (Of course, I made them for hubby’s big feet!!!) You will LOVE the finished product.

    • July 2, 2014 11:51 am

      Oh I am so glad to hear it! I will keep on keepin’ on. I love how the cables run on the gusset. Irresistible!

  2. July 2, 2014 12:16 pm

    Such pretty yarn! And I agree – you do need a quick read on occasion. That just seems to be where my head is at these days.

  3. July 3, 2014 5:33 pm

    That book series sounds quite interesting. I have put it in my wish list. I love the yarn you are using.

Leave a Reply

