Skip to content

Garden Progress

May 12, 2014

Laura’s Blog Entry

There is oh so much to do regarding the yard at our new home. I got one of the front beds redone last fall and I will post photos of it once the poppies are in bloom. Can’t wait!

I decided to start small this spring. Other than cutting back the roses, I cleaned out the herb garden and reworked a small bed behind the garage.

First the herb garden. What a mess! Only things that made it through the winter were two out of three strawberry plants and some chamomile. I had hoped the thyme would come back but no luck. I got it all straighten out, planted basil, parsley and more thyme. Still need chives and rosemary. I also planted a package of Romaine lettuce. It did well last year. I plant it heavily and then start eating and thinning as it comes up. So yummy. Even the kid is looking forward to eating it. Lettuce. I know!

Here it is all tidied up and mulched. I’ll mulch the lettuce when it gets big enough.

Next I decided to move the compost bin against the house. Now that we have a TARDIS, the composter in it’s original position was ruining the vista!

I decided to move it to a less prominent spot. (The composter. Not the TARDIS.) But first, here’s a before shot of the bed:

I cleaned out the grass that was overtaking it and moved the sweet peas over a bit. The sage stayed in place. I moved down the gladiolus. Hopefully they will still bloom. Finally, there was a bit of what I think is scented geranium. I kept that in the corner. We’ll see how it goes.

Much tidier.

The vase is one of the many treasure left behind by the rushed previous owners. We scored many nice things due to their hurried move!

It’s a good start. I want to get out front and make some sense in front of the house. Things to move. Things to thin. Lots there to work with, but kind of a jumble at the moment!

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2014 11:54 am

    Wow! A TARDIS in your garden. Thats cool. Guess you are no longer bound by the season – or the place, for that matter. Thanks for sharing.

    • May 12, 2014 12:11 pm

      I’m hoping it allows me to escape completely during the winter months! No such luck yet.

      • May 12, 2014 12:30 pm

        Keep trying. And call The Doctor.

Leave a Reply

