Skip to content

Yarn Along – 5/7/14

May 7, 2014

Laura’s Blog Entry Joining Ginny today, sharing what I am knitting and reading. I started a new sweater! After this past winter, I feel a lack in my wardrobe for heavier sweaters. The Common Ground hoodie seemed like the perfect choice. I like the extra warmth the hood fabric provides, even if I never wear the hood itself. This is a pretty, top-down raglan with garter stitch at the top, changing to a simple diamond openwork pattern on the main body. I am sizing up a bit so I will hopefully get a nice, comfy fit with a little room. I’m going for a slightly less fitted version. We’ll see how that works out! I chose the yarn during a online sale at Webs. It’s Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool XL in charcoal. I have only used a silk/wool blend in a much lighter weight once for a shawl. This is very different! It’s a nice medium slate gray that should go with much of my wardrobe. Only gotten the shoulders knit so far, but going well. The book is The Good Dream by Donna VanLiere. It is the May selection for my book club. Lovely cover, isn’t it? That’s important, right? The story takes place in 1950’s rural Tennessee. It’s about a single woman whose path crosses with a neglected little boy and the relationship that forms between them. It’s a sweet story of a woman who chooses not to follow the traditional path and followers her heart to make the life she wants to live. I am still working on listening to The Rosie Project. Not that it’s work. Very enjoyable!

The Smiths’ Occasional Blog is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com. They don’t tell us what to link to, but they will pay us a teeny tiny percentage if you buy an item we have chosen to feature.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

