Skip to content

Yarn Along – 4/30/14

April 30, 2014

Laura’s Blog Entry

Goodness, it’s been awhile since I Yarn Alonged! Joining Ginny today, sharing what I am knitting and reading.

Working on a new pair of socks out of yarn I got back in December on my Annual Birthday Buying of the Yarn. I believe it was the third annual! The yarn is the lovely, colorful Manos del Uruguay Alegría in color 9453 A Macachines. I believe that translates to Fun! Pink! And if it doesn’t, it should!

The pattern is called Duckies, by Samantha Hayes. (Ravelry Link) I am calling them “Pretty in Pink.” Get it?

It calls for sport weight yarn, so I used some other knitter’s Ravelry notes to translate it to fingering.

I stuck the yarn inside the sock so you can get a better idea of the eyelet pattern.

I’ve heard great things about the book I am listening to, The Rosie Project. So far I am enjoying the quirky story. Goodreads summarizes it as a novel that is “narrated by an oddly charming and socially challenged genetics professor on an unusual quest: to find out if he is capable of true love.” The character falls somewhere on the Asperger’s spectrum. I enjoy hearing how he interprets or struggles to interpret social situations. It’s all done in a lighthearted manner and really shows the thought  process he goes through as he navigates the world. There is some strong language, so be warned if you are sensitive to that. I am two disks in and enjoying it. I plan to listen more this week as I put in some serious quilting time.

I need to start turning the heel on these socks, so that always stalls me for a bit until I have a nice quiet day to focus. Might have to take some action to get that to happen. Don’t think the opportunity is going to just fall in my lap any time soon. Looking forward to seeing what everyone else is knitting and reading!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Joyce permalink
    April 30, 2014 12:06 pm

    Love Love Love this yarn! So beautiful, can’t wait to see the finished socks!

  2. April 30, 2014 12:14 pm

    Truly beautiful, loved the yarn and the pattern.

  3. April 30, 2014 12:19 pm

    Thanks, ladies! I fell in love with the color and had to take it home!

  4. April 30, 2014 12:58 pm

    Perfect name for your socks!

Leave a Reply

