Skip to content

Custom Subway Tile Denim Quilt

February 25, 2014

Laura’s Blog Entry

Recently I was thrilled to receive requests for two custom versions of my recycled denim quilts. I thought I would share the first completed one.

Etsy has a wonderful system for buyers to request a custom item and a clear and systematic way for sellers to collaborate with the buyer to design exactly what they want! I have really enjoyed the process.

This customer had some artwork she wanted to tie in as well as a specific “subway tile” construction for the denim quilt top. I was able to calculate the additional work for this (about twice as much cutting and piecing) and quote her a fair price for the quilt based on that.

I think it is actually quite stunning. All the shades of denim look very rich!

My process involves pulling denim from my stock and making sure I have a variety of shades. This varies depending on what I have on hand at the moment, but I do try to balance the darks and lights as well as vary the textures. I stand and cut and cut and cut and cut. And watch “The Real Housewives of Beverly Hills.” It helps the process. I swear.

Then I lay everything out, making sure I am happy with the color progression both across and and down the rows.

Next I number each piece with painter’s tape, because I work a long time on the layout and if it gets messed up I’d die. It starts out as strips…

And ends up as this…

I gave my buyer a couple options for the backing fabric via iPod photos taken at the fabric store:

    

She went with the violet. Love it! Then I saw that the Pantone color for 2014 is Radiant Orchid. Guess we knew what we were doing when we picked that shade!

Yep, lovely! Let’s admire it just a smidge more:

So that’s that. Done and delivered! He’s a handsome boy, isn’t he?


And finally, the buyer sent me a photo today showing her cozy reading chair with the quilt.

I welcome requests for other custom orders! You can contact me via my Etsy store at https://www.etsy.com/shop/Worksmith. There is a button to click below my photo. There is no obligation to buy if you inquire. This just starts a conversation. If it leads to a custom listing, great!

I am already working on another, which is a memorial quilt for the buyer’s father. I love this idea and feel quite honored to create a memory piece using material from his wardrobe.

Off to get quilty! Back with more soon!

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 28, 2014 7:31 pm

    It looks cozy! The color arrangement is so pleasing.

    I love your work and you are surely a very patient person for dealing with all the little patches.

Leave a Reply

