Skip to content

Headgear

February 6, 2014

Laura’s Blog Entry

‘Tis the season for keeping one’s ears covered. At least around here. These are a couple of patterns I knit recently that fit the bill in that department.

For Christmas I made my nieces Cabled Ear Warmers (Ravelry Link) by Lisa Clarke.  The pattern has three versions included. The yarn I used is an ombre, Red Heart Boutique Midnight in color 1945 Shadow (pink to gray ombre) and 1942 Serenade (burgundy to purple ombre). I try not to be a yarn snob. Sometimes an acrylic blend is appropriate. As long as it is soft to work with and soft to wear, I don’t have a problem with it. It was a fun yarn to knit and has a little bit of metallic in it. It’s a wool/acrylic blend, so it should provide warmth and easy care.

Here’s a better look at the color progression. Love those cables! There’s plenty left over from each ball, so I hope to make one for me and one for Mari, too!

Next up are a couple of hats I donated to Halos of Hope. This is a non-profit organization that provides knitted, crocheted, and sewn hats to chemotherapy patients in the US.

They are a little large on my lovely small-headed model! The pattern is the Gerri Hat, (Ravelry link) by Marlaina Bird. She graciously was giving it away for those knitting for Halos of Hope. I hadn’t planned on this being a Red Heart brand post, but I actually used more Red Heart for these hats. These were done in Soft. I found this helpful list of suggested yarns for chemo caps. They include many that are soft and easy care, both important for someone undergoing treatment.

The pattern is a quick knit and makes a pretty, lightweight hat which would be appropriate for all seasons.

If you think these are cute, wait until you see the next hat pattern I found! Stay tuned for irresistible adorableness!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

