Skip to content

Dragon Socks

January 8, 2014

Laura’s Blog Entry

For my last pair of socks I decided to up my game and do a more elaborate stitch pattern. I found the Little Dragon Socks pattern by Lara Neel. The original design had the patterning on the front of the leg only with ribbing on the back. I decided to go for it and do the patterning all the way around. In for a penny, in for a pound!

The yarn is Malebrigo sock in color 139 Pocion. I love this yarn. So much that I got another in a blue-gray colorway for a pair I am knitting for Neil. And maybe yet another skein for a future pair of some sort for me. Allegedly.

The variegation of the colors works perfectly to enhance the pattern. I hadn’t done a heel flap sock before, and I was leery. But I think I prefer the fit to my usual short rows. I am kind of over the short row heel.

Now here’s where I get a little geeky and techie. I did calf increases at the center back two times for a better fit.

I wish I could have done them in pattern, but that was too hard on my brain. I just did a triangle of knit stitches to make little wedge. You can see in the detail photo above. I took two vertical pattern repeats (plus another two rows) to add an entire 18 stitch repeat to the width. I added two stitches every other round, on the plain knitting rows.

As usual I am already looking ahead to my next pair. Oh yes. Something colorful and a little fancy. Oh socks, I love you so.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2014 11:58 am

    Love the pattern! Added it to my queue! LOL Oh, and the yarn is beautiful!

  2. Melanie Moore permalink
    January 9, 2014 9:57 am

    They turned out amazing! and I think the added wedge is a nice touch. it fits right in with the pattern. love them from top to bottom!

  3. January 11, 2014 5:23 pm

    You’re right, the color variations suit the pattern well. I am illierate when it comes to knitting, but I know a great pair of socks when I see one 🙂

Leave a Reply

