Skip to content

Engine Initialization

January 3, 2014

Laura’s Blog Entry

So how’s your new year going? Despite the lingering illness, I was able to do some of my “start as you mean to go” on for the year.

There was dough making.

Healthy cooking.

Also lots of resting, which is not pictured. Cause I was resting.

We also balanced the healthy eating with daily tastings from Neil’s Chocolates of the World package from his Christmas stocking.

I also started a new workbook that I think I found from someone during the blog-a-thon that just finished. I’m foggy on the the origins, but I am loving the idea!

It’s Leonie Dawson’s Create Your Own Amazing Life + Business.

I ordered the business ebook version. I have only begun the first few pages, the 2013 in review, but I like it so far. It has fun and colorful (and girly!) illustrations and has a bit more heart than many develop-your-business type books. There is also one for your personal life.

I will update you once I get a bit further into it. I enjoyed all the vision boards I made during Hannah Marcotti’s Making Space for Surrender workshop I participated in last year, and this seems to align with that practice. I was able to make some real progress on a personal level through that process so I am taking it forward into 2014 and applying it to my handmade business.

Pretty good start. The Christmas tree is still up. The studio is still untouched. But we adjusted plans and still got a great start. More of this, please.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2014 12:56 pm

    Hi Laura, and Happy New Year to you! Sorry to hear that you have been ill, but glad to hear you’re taking care of yourself with rest and chocolate.

    I was so sad that I couldn’t participate in the last few days of the blog-a-thon. My computer died, and working from my iPod is proving to be a challenge. I couldn’t even leave comments on the Kickin’ It site – they just disappeared when I clicked ‘publish.’ So frustrating.

    Cool to see that you have discovered Leonie’s workbooks. I joined her online Academy in September, and it was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. Her business course inspired me to set up my website and start blogging, and I have met some amazing women from all over the world through the online forums. I love Leonie’s attitude – she’s very inspiring.

    Hope you feel better soon!

    • January 3, 2014 1:53 pm

      Thanks, Sarah! The end of the blog-a-thon did get a bit crazy with storms, holiday travel, etc. Happy we can all catch up now. I must have seen Leonie’s stuff on your site! Thanks for clearing that up! Thanks also for the good health wishes. It was my husband who was sick – but sometimes when one person is suffering we all feel it. It was kind of a group effort around here!

Leave a Reply

