Skip to content

Favorite Songs

December 16, 2013

Laura’s Blog Entry

Kickin’ It Old Skool Blog-a-Thon : Day Sixteen
All this month I am blogging from some prompts from Jamie and Shannon Ridler for the Kickin’ It Old School Blog-a-Thon.

Today’s Prompt: Share with us some of your favorite songs.

Let’s start right out the gate with one of my all time favorite songs:
“Home” by Depeche Mode. It captures the pain and the beauty of life like no other song I’ve found.

Since this is gonna get deep and a bit melancholy later, here’s a bit of comic relief:
“The Lovecats” by The Cure. Isn’t Robert Smith just adorable? Sigh. Yes, I did love the ‘80s!

Here’s where it goes in a different direction:
“Something in the Way” by Nirvana. Yeah. Kurt Cobain. Perhaps the biggest HSP the world had ever know. So miss having him here.

On a lighter note:
“Caramel” by Suzanne Vega. I am a fan of her songwriting and performances. This is one of her jazzier tunes. Love all the classic film used in this retro style video.

The next one I mentioned on an earlier post as being a perfect song:
“Barely Breathing” by Duncan Sheik. So catchy – in a good way. Oh my goodness this is such a 1990s video!

The one to skip if you are depressed:
“Asleep” by The Smiths. Yeah. Pretty fully steeped in despair. Sometimes this is just the right song for the moment, you know?

This one turns the tide with a bit a hope:
“Reflecting Light” by Sam Phillips. Love, love, love her. One of my favorite vocalists.

And to finish up my list today – the world’s saddest Christmas song:
“Mary’s Waltz “by Over the Rhine. This band is a local Cincinnati favorite and a huge inspiration for me. Can’t get through this song without tears. Nothing says Christmas quite like that! (Yes, I am totally weird.)

Hope I haven’t brought anyone down! I do like some melancholy tunes. It’s the Goth girl in me. If you are feeling sad, please go back and watch “The Lovecats” again. It’s sure to make you smile!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2013 3:17 pm

    I listened to all of them as I was working. My fingers typed faster with The Lovecats and my favorite is the last one, which I could listen to over and over again. Very interesting and diverse selection.

  2. December 16, 2013 3:32 pm

    A walk down memory lane for me. Great music: Depeche Mode, The Cure, Nirvana, The Smiths…. love it!

  3. December 16, 2013 6:37 pm

    I love Nirvana and Morrissey, and I adore Nirvana’s Unplugged album. Thanks for reminding me of it!

  4. December 16, 2013 8:58 pm

    awesome list. i love depeche mode but i don’t remember that song. made a list to check some others out later. LOVE The CURE! 🙂
    blessings
    ~*~

  5. Cynthia Lee permalink
    December 17, 2013 10:56 am

    love, love, LOVE Over the Rhine. They sang me through a very difficult year of my life. Every grateful.

Leave a Reply

