Skip to content

Will Grayson, Will Grayson

December 14, 2013

Laura’s Blog Entry

Kickin’ It Old Skool Blog-a-Thon : Day Fourteen
All this month I am blogging from some prompts from Jamie and Shannon Ridler for the Kickin’ It Old School Blog-a-Thon.

Today’s Prompt: Grab the third book in on your top shelf of books. Share the first sentence.

Just so you know, I am going rogue.

Off the rails.

Breakin’ the rules.

I misread the prompt and got all excited. Then I read it again and was sad I couldn’t write what I was excited about. THEN I REMEMBERED IT’S MY BLOG, LOL. So there!

Anyway…

I am instead going to share a line from the most influential books I read in the last year. It is from the young adult novel Will Grayson, Will Grayson, by John Green and David Levithan.

“Tiny Cooper is not the world’s gayest person, and he is not the world’s largest person, but I believe he may be the world’s largest person who is really, really gay, and also the world’s gayest person who is really, really large.”

That line captures the spirit of the book.

I don’t say this often, but this book changed my life. The story in the book, though amazing, didn’t change me. It was more the feeling the story was able to capture. The characters were so real and relatable and vulnerable to me. What I’ve taken away from it is a lesson in writing.

Will Grayson, with all of its extreme use of profanity, totally ripped my heart out – in a good way. I laughed. I cried. It all sounds like a huge cliche. But it’s not.

In summary, it’s the story of two boys, both named Will Grayson. Their paths cross and their lives start to overlap. Oh, and it also involves the production of a high school musical based on the life of a gay football player. Yes, really!

If you are interested in reading it, I highly recommend listening to the audiobook version. The performance is fantastic! But my husband read the print version and enjoyed it as much as I did, so either way you can’t go wrong.

NOTE: I will warn you, even though this is a YA book, I would recommend it for upper high school kids, maybe 16 and up. Profanity and sexual language abounds. If you have sensitivities to those things this might not be for you. I found it jarring at first, but then I settled into the characters and it felt right.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2013 11:04 am

    Thanks for sharing this, Laura! It’s so cool to get a glimpse into a book you love!

  2. December 14, 2013 3:49 pm

    Good on you for going rogue!! I love that this is a book I probably never would have heard of, let alone read if it wasn’t for you, and now it’s on my list. I’m really diggin’ this blog-a-thon! 🙂

    • December 14, 2013 5:32 pm

      Sarah, even if you don’t end up liking it, I think it is worthwhile just to observe the writing style! (But I am hoping you like it!)

Leave a Reply

