Skip to content

First!

December 13, 2013

Laura’s Blog Entry

Kickin’ It Old Skool Blog-a-Thon : Day Thirteen
All this month I am blogging from some prompts from Jamie and Shannon Ridler for the Kickin’ It Old School Blog-a-Thon.

Today’s Prompt: Share a First

Does anyone else find firsts traumatic? First day of school, first job, first (and only!) child. In the past I have found firsts difficult because everything is new. You have to learn the whole thing.

I love learning, but I used to have this real big issue with perfection. It’s hard to learn something when you are afraid of messing up. Saying the wrong thing. Looking dumb. Making a mistake.

The kicker is that I crave change. Which means there is always something new.

The good news is that I consider myself a recovering perfectionist. It’s so much easier to move into the unknown without the paralyzing grip of perfection.

Here’s an example. Remember the photo the other day of my lovely, clean sofa where I blog?

Well now that my party is over, it’s back to its normal state.

I would have never posted a photo like this years ago. It would have make me feel really awful and unsettled that the photo wasn’t styled perfectly.

But I am so over that!

[Hey I just noticed I was watching a video of Jamie when I snapped this. Too funny!]

So here’s to more firsts. Experienced in a new way.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2013 11:42 am

    I feel your pains. I too am a “thinking about recovering” perfectionist. It’s hard to let that go. And firsts can definitely feel traumatic. Nice blog post!

  2. December 13, 2013 1:15 pm

    I love your couch. Life is there. Energy and things happening are there. The evidence of all this “life” IS perfection!

  3. December 13, 2013 4:12 pm

    Good for you for thinking about recovering! And for sharing your couch photo! Hey, I posted my chaos! (here: http://www.kellybesecke.com/kickin-it-day-2-time-capsule/ ) Your still looks beautiful to me.

  4. December 13, 2013 4:59 pm

    Thanks, everyone! Kelly, I appreciate your chaos, LOL! It’s a slow process to sort and whittle everything down. Took me a couple of years and a move for it to happen! Hang in there!

  5. December 13, 2013 6:56 pm

    Love your lounge it looks lived in and enjoyed!

  6. December 13, 2013 9:31 pm

    Looks like you have all you need to keep busy and to rest. As for perfectionism, I’ve channeled mine into French proofreading and translation by day, by night I am just happy avoiding details.

  7. December 14, 2013 1:32 am

    I so know what you’re saying about firsts! In fact, it just made me realize that one of the things I know for sure is “you only have to do it the first time once.” And I’m thankful for that. It’s funny how sometimes we are drawn to those things we find challenging. Maybe it’s so… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tgcc5V9Hu3g

Leave a Reply

