Skip to content

Show and Tell

December 10, 2013

Laura’s Blog Entry

Kickin’ It Old Skool Blog-a-Thon : Day Ten
All this month I am blogging from some prompts from Jamie and Shannon Ridler for the Kickin’ It Old School Blog-a-Thon.

Today’s Prompt: Show and Tell

I was racking my brain this morning, trying to think of something to share. Then when I downloaded some shots from my camera I figured it out.

If you are new to the blog, this past summer we built a TARDIS in our backyard (time machine from the show Doctor Who, if you aren’t as geeky as we are). Yesterday morning, someone came to visit:

They may eat all the hostas, but they are so pretty!

I don’t live in the outer suburbs. Geographically I live within the city limits of Cincinnati. There are lots of deer that parade past the back of our house. The cat loves it!

If you are interested I wrote more about the TARDIS here and here.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2013 9:11 am

    My niece would be so amazed, and jealous, that you actually built a TARDIS in your yard. That is so cool! And the deer is awesome too! Nice photo!

  2. December 10, 2013 9:35 am

    Now, we may have a problem. My daughter was reading over my shoulder when she saw the tardis in your backyard… she is such a fan of The doctor. We may have a building project on our hands next spring. Knitting Dr Who tardis hats may no longer satisfy her!

    It’s great that you post about the building project, we’ll be reading.

  3. December 10, 2013 9:55 am

    This is the coolest thing I have seen in a very long time. The juxtaposition of the deer and the Tardis is just so awesome. I know so much about the Dr. Who franchise through other people, even though I will admit to having never watched it myself. I’m pleased to see that Netflix has some old episodes in its catalogue – I must remedy this situation pronto!

    • December 10, 2013 10:53 am

      OK, so if you watch old episodes, and you like to do things in order, I recommend you start like we did with the 2005 reboot of the series with Christopher Eccleston as The Doctor. Those really old series from the beginning are charming, but you’ll doze off and never watch again, LOL!

  4. December 10, 2013 11:52 am

    Oh how cool to build a Tardis of your very own!! That’s amazing! And then to have this visitor…a great holiday card this would be!

  5. December 10, 2013 12:14 pm

    I’m with Sherry Smyth on the Tardis/Deer holiday card… 😀

  6. December 10, 2013 2:11 pm

    Oh double goodness – a gorgeous deer AND a TARDIS. Totally makes my day!

  7. December 10, 2013 4:12 pm

    Two for one – AWESOME! THANKS for sharing Laura!

  8. December 10, 2013 4:35 pm

    Love it!

  9. December 10, 2013 5:18 pm

    OoO That is awesome. I haven’t seen deer much since moving to suburban MI. but I loved spotting them when we lived in the country. That TARDIS is amazing.

  10. December 10, 2013 7:19 pm

    Thanks for all the kind comments today, everyone! I will be sure to show them to my husband. He worked so hard to make this project happen for our daughter.

  11. December 10, 2013 7:54 pm

    Somehow I missed the fact that you’re in Cincinnati. I have an aunt and uncle, as well as a cousin there who also get deer in their backyards on a regular basis. So cool!!

  12. December 10, 2013 9:34 pm

    How great is that – a time machine and a deer in one shot!

  13. December 10, 2013 10:59 pm

    That is really fun! I agree that would make a perfect holiday card!

Leave a Reply

