Skip to content

Movies!

December 9, 2013

Laura’s Blog Entry

Kickin’ It Old Skool Blog-a-Thon : Day Nine
All this month I am blogging from some prompts from Jamie and Shannon Ridler for the Kickin’ It Old School Blog-a-Thon.

Today’s Prompt: Share Some of Your Favorite Movies

Oh boy, this could take awhile!

Since I am at home all day, I have the luxury of watching Turner Classic Movies while I do all my household work as well as my handmade craft business. Mostly I prefer black and white films. My favorite era is the 1940s. If I were to get really specific I would even say the genre I like best is Film Noir. While I do love a good story, what I like best are good characters and most of all an engaging setting. It’s the setting, look and feel of a movie that sticks with me. I’ve developed a huge appreciation for Humphrey Bogart and his work. That man knew what he did well. His character in The Maltese Falcon is one of my most favorite. I’ll watch that movie again and again. But I probably couldn’t explain the plot to you. I’m too busy watching the clothes and the listening to the clever dialogue.

I have two films that are not from that genre that are my all-time favorites. One is a black and white movie – Rebecca – directed by Alfred Hitchcock. George Sanders is my favorite classic film actor, and he plays one of his most wonderfully despicable characters in this one.

My other favorite movie is called Slaves of New York. It’s a 1989 film based on the novel by Tama Janowitz. It is the story of a quirky young woman, Eleanor,  who lives in the art scene of New York City in the 1980′s. If you are an artist and haven’t seen this, I really recommend it. It wasn’t available for years, but I think you can see it on Netflix now, at least via DVD.

I wrote more about these two movies a couple of years ago – and how your favorite movies say a lot about who you are. They can provide helpful clues for your growth. Here’s a link if you are interested. I could go on about this topic for hours, so I’m really interested to see what movies everyone else loves! Hope I’ll find some I haven’t seen yet.

Oh, And since it’s that time of year, here are my holiday classics – White Christmas, Holiday Inn, The Bishop’s Wife, and Holiday. (Holiday is the one with Katharine Hepburn and Cary Grant. It’s not as widely known, but I love it!)

12 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2013 10:51 am

    I like to watch movies with strong characters and beautiful scenery. Now I am off to read your link. You’ve given me something to think about today.

  2. December 9, 2013 12:36 pm

    I like a lot of the classics too. Rebecca is one of the best. And this time of year i just have to see White Christmas… 🙂

  3. December 9, 2013 12:42 pm

    I love all those holiday movies you named! There’s nothing like some good Bing Crosby and Cary Grant. Thanks for sharing!

  4. December 9, 2013 1:47 pm

    I think I’ll be adding “Slaves of New York” to my wanna see list. Did you know that the actual maltese falcon was, or soon will be, going up for auction? I thought that was pretty cool.

    • December 9, 2013 3:41 pm

      I think I did hear that. I saw one this summer in a museum. Obviously not “the” one, but it looked very real.I got pretty goofy about it!

  5. December 9, 2013 3:31 pm

    I feel like I’ve been in another world, a French one that is! I am not familiar at all with the movies you mention. It’s not that I don’t have access to them, but there is not enough time to be fully immersed in more than one culture. I can’t wait to watch The Slaves of New York.

    Your interest for movies certainly shines through in this post!

    • December 9, 2013 3:44 pm

      That must be a challenge! I know watching films that are foreign to me are fun, but do take extra energy to engage with! I thought you might like Slaves of New York – at least I hope so! It has a lot of late 1980s culture that I love as well. It’s very much a period piece! Let me know if you enjoy it – or hate it! Still would make for a good discussion!

  6. December 9, 2013 5:17 pm

    I’ve never seen “Slaves of New York”– thank you for the recommendation! 🙂

  7. December 9, 2013 6:12 pm

    Well I can see my Netflix queue is going to get workout today. I’ll be adding Slaves of New York to it for sure.

  8. December 9, 2013 10:17 pm

    What an interesting list. I will have to check out some of them. I watched Hitchcock’s “Rear Window” once in a theater for a special screening and loved it.

  9. December 10, 2013 1:12 am

    I love the witty rapport of Film Noir too, there really is nothing like it.I love Slaves of New York! I watched that one over and over again, although the main character is totally having a crazy rough time, I thought living her life would be the best thing ever. Wow, that is so true that the movies you love do say a lot about you.

    And here is a big high-5 for The Bishop’s Wife love 🙂

Leave a Reply

