Skip to content

Color

December 3, 2013

Laura’s Blog Entry

Kickin’ It Old Skool Blog-a-Thon : Day Three
All this month I am blogging from some prompts from Jamie and Shannon Ridler for the Kickin’ It Old School Blog-a-Thon.

I’ve gotta be honest; today’s prompt felt overwhelming. A list of 50 questions about color. I could work on something like this for a week. In my head I am wondering who in the world is going to want to read my answers to these questions. I had to figure out a way to participate and also be able to complete the prompt today. So of course the first thing to do was to find a photo for each color. That would save time (NOT).

After wresting with it, I decided to play along and go out of my comfort zone. I’ll forgive you if you doze off… At least there are some pictures!

[ RED ]

Over the Rhine, Cincinnati, Ohio

What’s the first thing you think of when you think of red? ~ LIPSTICK

Closest red thing to you? ~ SOFA

What is the last thing that made you angry? ~ PROBABLY SOMETHING POLITICAL I SAW ON FACEBOOK

Are you a fan of romance? ~ WITHIN REASON, LOL

Do you have a temper? ~ NOPE

[ GREEN ]

Antique/Junk Shop Near Ft. Ancient, Ohio

What’s the first thing you think of when you think of green? ~ TREES

Closest green thing to you? ~TREES

What’s your favourite green environment? ~ WALKING PATH IN THE PARK

Are you jealous of anyone right now? ~ NOPE

Are you a lucky person? ~ IF YOU SEE YOURSELF AS FORTUNATE, THEN YOU ARE

[ PURPLE ]

Me, at the Renaissance Festival, Near Cincinnati, Ohio

What’s the first thing you think of when you think of purple? ~ FAKE GRAPE FLAVOR – YUCK

Closest purple thing to you? ~ A SHAWL TWO ROOMS AWAY

Do you like being treated like royalty? ~ NOT IF I AM SINGLED OUT

Do you like mysterious things? ~ DEFINITELY

Are you intuitive? ~ YES

[ BLUE ]

Neil, On Lake Erie

What’s the first thing you think of when you think of blue? ~ WATER

Closest blue thing to you? ~ YARN

Are you good at calming people down? ~ SOMETIMES

What’s your favourite body of water (i.e. lake, ocean, etc)? ~ LAKE ERIE

What was the last thing that made you cry? ~ A LOVELY MEETING WITH MY DAUGHTER’S TUTOR

Are you a logical thinker? ~ HECK YEAH

[ YELLOW ]

Fire Escape, Over the Rhine, Cincinnati, Ohio

What’s the first thing you think of when you think of yellow? ~ BIRDS

Closest yellow thing to you? ~ TEAPOT

What was one of the happiest times of your life? ~ WHEN I GET TO JUST HANG OUT WITH MY HUSBAND AND DAUGHTER

What’s your favourite holiday? ~ CHRISTMAS

What makes you happy? ~ WHEN COMPASSION AND GRACE SHOW UP IN THE WORLD

[ PINK ]

Sky, Cincinnati, Ohio

What’s the first thing you think of when you think of pink? ~ COTTON CANDY

Closest pink thing to you? ~ YARN

What sweet things do you like? ~ ALL CHOCOLATE, ALL THE TIME

Are you sensitive? ~ LIKE WHOA

What is your favourite flower? ~ PINK ROSE

Does you have a crush on someone? ~ NOT THAT I WILL ADMIT TO

[ ORANGE ]

Pyramid Hill Sculpture Park, Hamilton, Ohio

What’s the first thing you think of when you think of orange? ~ MY DAUGHTER

Closest orange thing to you? BIG SURPRISE – YARN

Do you dress up for Halloween? ~ NO! NO! NO!

What gives you the warm fuzzies? ~ WOOD FIRE, A BLANKET AND BOOK

What would your superpower be? ~ ELIMINATING POVERTY (SOUNDS LIKE A MISS AMERICA ANSWER, BUT I FEEL PRETTY PASSIONATE ABOUT IT)

[ BROWN ]

Pyramid Hill Sculpture Park, Hamilton, Ohio

What’s the first thing you think of when you think of brown? ~ WOOL

Closest brown thing to you? ~ WOOL

What is your favourite type of chocolate? ~ DARK, DARK, DARK

What makes you feel grounded? ~ YOGA

Paint the wood or always leave it au naturel? ~ TOTALLY DEPENDS ON THE SITUATION

[ WHITE ]

Lake Erie

What’s the first thing you think of when you think of white? ~ CLOUDS

Closest white thing to you? ~ PLATE

Do you always try to keep the peace? ~ YES

Do you like to play in the snow? ~ NO, BUT I LIKE TO WATCH SNOW FALLING

Are you afraid of going to the doctors or dentist? ~ NO, BUT I AM VERY PARTICULAR WHO I GO TO

[ BLACK ]

Washington Park, Cincinnati, Ohio

What’s the first thing you think of when you think of black? ~ MY WARDROBE

Closest black thing to you? ~ MY SHOES

Are you sophisticated or silly? ~ MAYBE NEITHER, OR BOTH

Do you have a lot of secrets? ~ A REASONABLE AMOUNT

What’s the new black? ~ BLACK – NOTHING BETTER!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2013 6:07 pm

    I love what makes you happy — a beautiful answer. And the photographs are stunning!

  2. December 3, 2013 7:11 pm

    Gorgeous photos!

  3. December 3, 2013 7:46 pm

    I loved all the photo’s!

  4. December 3, 2013 9:06 pm

    Thanks for the photos – makes the reading go faster.
    I’m from Cleveland, OH originally… it’s nice to see the Lake again…

    • December 3, 2013 9:40 pm

      Oh good! I thought it helped break up all the text. FYI, since you are from Ohio, photo was taken at Marblehead, Ohio. I do love the lake!

  5. December 3, 2013 9:42 pm

    Thanks, everyone! Glad I pushed myself today!

  6. December 3, 2013 11:38 pm

    I love your blog entry, including photos. Where you see yellow, I see “vert-de-gris”, that beautiful green found on old metal surfaces. You sure think of wool a lot 🙂

    • December 4, 2013 8:49 am

      Oh yes – I see lost of vert-de-gris in there alongside the golden yellow. I noticed that most colors I saw were in contrast to another color. Good old color wheel must be right! Perhaps because I am surrounded by at least three baskets with different knitting projects it keeps the wool on the brain. I do love it!

  7. December 4, 2013 1:26 am

    Well, after being hesitant to start, you certainly hit this one out of the park. Those photos are gorgeous, and I for one, very much wanted to read all of your answers – and I’m glad that I did!

    • December 4, 2013 8:52 am

      Oh goodness – what a sweet comment. This really touched me today. Thanks! I do like letting something become what it is supposed to be. Working through that resistance.

Leave a Reply

