Skip to content

Time Capsule

December 2, 2013

Laura’s Blog Entry

Kickin’ It Old Skool Blog-a-Thon : Day Two
All this month I am blogging from some prompts from Jamie and Shannon Ridler for the Kickin’ It Old School Blog-a-Thon.

Today we are making a time capsule of this moment by answering the following prompts.

Reading: In the Wide Country of Love, by Liz Bell Young. Liz is a local Cincinnati author. (And, incidentally is a former coworker of my husband, Neil.) The story is a memoir. I love this description from the summary on Amazon: “It’s a story that will speak to anyone who has ever loved someone, grieved someone or needed to step back in order to start moving forward.” Only a few pages in, but I am already pulled into the story.

Watching: Black and white movies, preferably from the 1940s. Also, the TV show, Bar Rescue. It seems to me that some people who open bars have apparently never been served in a bar before as a customer. Really clueless. I love shows that save businesses. I think it’s because I am always looking for the hope in every situation.

Listening: Nine Inch Nail latest release, Hesitation Marks. My darker side is showing. I am loving this album. Trent Reznor’s current work is leaning more toward the award-winning soundtrack stuff he’s done, like The Social Network and The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, as well as a nod to his side project, How to Destroy Angels. Here a link to many of his soundtrack efforts, if you aren’t familiar with them. I have always been drawn to the undercurrent that exists in his music. The emotion can be in your face, but sometimes it just simmers.

Loving: Our working fireplace. We never quite got around to redoing the chimney in our old home. This one is in working order! Whoo hoo! We are enjoying it on a regular basis this winter.

Wearing: Handknit sock. This is my most recent pair. Nothing keeps your feet warm like wool.

Creating: A studio space in the basement! We are reworking the storage area, then shifting things around to make a nice little space all my own! My supplies are all still in boxes, but this is the current house project. It has finally made it to the top of the list!

Looking Forward To: The film The Secret Life of Walter Mitty. It looks gorgeous!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2013 6:08 pm

    They look warm and cozy!

  2. December 2, 2013 7:20 pm

    Secret Life of Walter Mitty is on our list to see as well … and I LOVE THOSE SOCKs!

  3. December 2, 2013 7:42 pm

    I love b&w films from the 30s and 40s! And those socks look so warm!

  4. December 2, 2013 10:04 pm

    Love the socks ! And I am looking forward to Walter Mitty too.

  5. December 2, 2013 11:33 pm

    I am loving this prompt – my list of books and music to check out is decidedly longer than it was yesterday. 🙂 And the socks are gorgeous.

  6. December 3, 2013 12:03 am

    Ooh, I am looking at those beautiful socks with envy! I’m a crocheter, and have tried unsuccessfully to knit, many times…my poor brain cannot comprehend it I tell you! I always send waves of jealousy in the direction of knitters! (Feel the jealousy!!!)

    Super huge congratulations on your studio! That has to make you so happy! My husband and I live in a tiny house, but I am lucky/scare him enough (haha) to have a room of my own for my studio! I do believe it is my favorite place in the whole wide world! So I’m glad that you get to have a space of your own, because they are very nice indeed!

    • December 3, 2013 8:34 am

      You made me laugh about the jealousy! I understand having trouble with knitting. I taught myself from a book and it was no walk in the park! I was just so determined, somehow I finally got it. I can’t believe the frustration I went through. I wish I had known about all the Youtube videos that show you how! Back then I thought Youtube was only videos of kittens! It is so much easier with something to watch. For me crochet can be a challenge, but it do that sometimes, too.

      I am pretty thrilled about the studio. It was part of the reason we decided to move last year. I just need a room for me and all my stuff. Then the rest of the house is calmer and cleaner and we are all happier!

  7. December 7, 2013 9:41 pm

    That book sounds like something I really need to read. I will have to look it up. I’ve also become a fan of Bar Rescue … and it has totally changed my husband’s and my preference for those little mom & pop bars that only the locals know about. O.M.G. I just want to gag sometimes when he starts showing what it is like behind the bar!

    • December 7, 2013 9:52 pm

      I know! So filthy! Makes your skin crawl! I love how by the end people are taking more pride in their place and in their jobs.

Leave a Reply

