Skip to content

Kickin’ It Old Skool Blog-a-Thon : Day One

December 1, 2013

Laura’s Blog Entry

I have been getting inspiration and good vibes and warm twinkles lately as I listen to the Creative Living with Jamie podcast and reading her blog at http://jamieridlerstudios.ca. Jamie is Jamie Ridler. She is a creative living coach. As I am working toward expanding my handmade business she is providing lots of good stuff to get me going.

For the month of December, Jamie and her sister Shannon are providing blogging prompts and a Linky platform that anyone can participate in. Start anytime; join us if you like! Here’s a link if you are interested in doing a refresh on your blog with some fresh ideas.

Today’s prompt is to post a selfie.


This is how I am spending December First, on my little sofa nest. I am here, in between cooking a mini-second-Thanksgiving and putting up storm windows and such. Later we’ll be building a fire in the other room, but for now I am watching a black and white movie and knitting a set of coasters for my shop. There will be reading. And knitting a sock. And crustless pumpkin pie. And the first night of lighting the Advent Wreath. Oh yes.

Happy December!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2013 4:26 pm

    Sounds like a perfectly good use of a Sunday to me!
    Peace~
    Dawn

  2. December 1, 2013 4:57 pm

    I LOVE this photo! I adore meeting crafty people, especially those who bake pumpkin pies. Sounds like the perfect way to spend the winter and I’m doing the same thing.

    • December 1, 2013 5:03 pm

      Ha! A kindred spirit! I will try to work in some walking and yoga between the pies. Yeah. Could get ugly!

  3. December 1, 2013 5:23 pm

    What a lovely selfie. And what a lovely day you have planned. Glad there’s some time for that delightful sofa nesting!

  4. December 1, 2013 5:26 pm

    Great photo! Love the basket of yarn!
    blessings
    ~*~

  5. December 1, 2013 7:37 pm

    You look so cozy and comfortable in your nest…I’m loving all the wool and the industrious nature of your day!

    • December 1, 2013 8:35 pm

      Oh I am the queen of comfort, LOL. Balancing industriousness and rest. It’s the only way I can power through all the work!

  6. December 1, 2013 7:39 pm

    Beautiful you! I have been toying with re-learning how to crochet … your beautiful basket of yarn makes me want to stop toying and just do it!

    • December 1, 2013 8:34 pm

      Thanks! Baskets of yarn can be so inspiring. I love all the colors and textures! Lots of Youtube videos for crochet, too. Your memory will be refreshed in no time!

  7. December 1, 2013 7:47 pm

    Sounds like a lovely day…I’ve always wanted to learn how to knit!

    • December 1, 2013 8:32 pm

      I will always encourage learning to knit! There are many videos on Youtube that can show you how if you don’t have anyone to show you in person. Just start really simple and enjoy! It still amazes me that I can make fabric from yarn!

  8. December 1, 2013 11:43 pm

    Ooooo, I’m finding this challenge so fun already. I’m so enjoying bouncing around the internet “meeting” all the participants. Love your selfie. Learning to knit is on my list of “must do soons.”

  9. December 1, 2013 11:50 pm

    I am playing as well. Nice to meet you!

  10. December 1, 2013 11:55 pm

    Hey, Laura, I was really moved by your lovely words about the podcast and the blog. I’m so glad that we’ve connected and are sharing this journey. That warms my heart.

    And I totally love seeing your selfie and how much it shares of you. And guess what? Yesterday I made crochet coasters for the very first time. How’s that for some synchronicity!

  11. December 2, 2013 6:15 am

    You look so cozy there with your colorful knitting around you – what a perfect way to begin December!

Leave a Reply

