Skip to content

Yarn Along – 11/13/13

November 13, 2013

Laura’s Blog Entry

Joining Ginny in her Yarn Along this week. Congrats to her and her family on the arrival of baby Job!

I am working on a pair of socks for Neil. It is another pair of Guy Socks (Ravelry Link). He loves the first pair, so why mess with success? I will do a short-row heel again like I did the first time.

Yarn is Malabrigo Sock in 871 Playa. The color is a soft blue gray with flecks of tan. Perfectly masculine.

I am currently reading Hiking Through: Finding Peace and Freedom on the Appalachian Trail by Paul Stutzman. It’s the story of a man who embarks on a through-hike of the Appalachian Trail after the death of his wife from cancer. It becomes a life-changing spiritual journey for him as well as a challenging physical one. It’s the November selection for my book club and I’m enjoying reading about his adventure from the comfort of my sofa!

Time to turn the heel on this sock! Now where’s my favorite heel instructions? Wondering if I will ever have this part of a sock committed to memory!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2013 2:34 pm

    the book sounds interesting but kind of sad. Lovely socks and heel turning is quite fun 🙂

    • November 13, 2013 2:48 pm

      Hi Karen – I was afraid it would be very sad, but most of the book is about his hike, who he meets, and the rigors of the trail itself. He misses his wife, but it is a joyful book about his spiritual journey.Thank goodness!

Leave a Reply

