Skip to content

Review: Box of Bullets by Shiny and the Spoon

November 8, 2013

Laura’s Blog Entry

Taking a little break from my handmade items for some handcrafted music. I was pleased to get a complementary download of Box of Bullets from Shiny and the Spoon. I am loving it and wanted to share about it here.

Shiny and the Spoon weave their folk/pop magic again. Their latest album, Box of Bullets, is chock full of catchy melodies and simple, fresh harmonies. The songs make me think of crisp fall days and cups of hot coffee in mittened hands.

I got a real tangible emotional flow from the album. “Someday Love” starts on a sweet note and the goodnatured “Needle” makes me wanna jump a boxcar. Just because.

Things flow along and then darken up a bit with “Box of Bullets”. Amber and Jordan’s harmonies always get me. Then, I love the twist that comes with “April Showers”. It’s my favorite track – pretty and haunting with a vibe that puts me back in late ‘70’s.

The songs taper down to a bittersweet end with “Kingdom Come”. Perfect! In this age of single-song purchases, it was a lovely journey through this record. I hope you will check it out. I am posting a Youtube teaser below to give you a little taste.

Quick, get a copy so you can play it in the car with the windows down while the leaves are still falling!

Find out more about Shiny and the Spoon on Facebook and note that they have a special show on Saturday, November 16 at the Esquire Theatre.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

