Skip to content

Kim Taylor – Love’s A Dog

November 2, 2013

Laura’s Blog Entry

Had the distinct pleasure of spending my last two Friday nights enjoying the vast and varied talent of Kim Taylor. Last weekend was the Cincinnati premiere of the film in which she has a starring role,  I Used to be Darker.

It’s a wonderful little film. And I mean “little” in the most complimentary way. I prefer a little film. Not a huge exploding blockbuster, but a film with a smaller scope. With intimate portraits of characters and relationships, I Used To Be Darker is exactly that. It also has some wonderful musical performances. The film was a part of the 2013 Sundance Film Festival and has gotten favorable reviews.

Kim did a Q&A afterwards and shared a bit of the creative process behind the film. You know how much I love hearing about the creative process! Oh yes! It was lovely! Look for the film at an art house in your area.

Then this past Friday Kim did a sold-out concert at The Monastery in Cincinnati. It’s one of my favorite music venues in the city. Small and intimate. Are you sensing a theme here?

The show was the debut of her new album, Love’s a Dog.

It was a great show. And totally inspiring – especially if you have a bit o’ the music inside you that is wanting to come out. I have a feeling The Sleep just might have gotten that jump start that we’ve been needing!

The following is one of my favorite tunes from the record. If you like Over the Rhine, I know you will dig Kim as well. Singer/songwriter that defies genre. Just the way I like it!

I got this shot afterwards while Mari was getting her album signed. She’s been fortunate to be in a songwriting class with Kim for a couple of years. Raising up the next generation!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

