Skip to content

Yarn Along – 9/4/13

September 4, 2013

Laura’s Blog Entry

I am joining Ginny at Small Things today as she blogs what she is knitting and reading in her Yarn Along.

Right now I am reading Committed: A Skeptic Makes Peace with Marriage by Elizabeth Gilbert, of Eat, Pray, Love fame. It’s a follow-up to her first book and documents her journey as she wrestled with getting married again. It’s not just about her personal issues. She talks about marriage in different time periods and cultures. Quite interesting in the current climate of marriage rights. Only about a third of the way through, but it has sparked some nice conversation. Always a sign of a good book, in my opinion.

As for the knitting, I am flying through the second sock of a pair of Little Dragon Socks by Lara Neel. These are very intricately patterned with an eight-row lace repeat. I was ready to move on to more exciting socks and these certainly fit the bill. The first sock was slow to start. Learning the lace pattern as well as a new heel technique were time consuming, but the second sock is going fast! I chose to do the pattern all the way around the leg instead of just on the front. Because, why not!

Yarn is Malabrigo Sock in color 139 Pocion. Lovely fall tones.

I purchased yarn for my next pair, and it is calling to me to get started.

That’s a real motivator – the yarn siren song. But only one pair on the needles at once – cause I only have enough needles for one at a time! Perhaps I should do something about that…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2013 10:58 am

    I like the look of those socks, I do. I do!
    I like your “yarn siren song” phrasing.
    …and I added Little Dragon Socks to my Q. Thanks!

    • September 4, 2013 11:26 am

      Oh look! Another is enabled! The stitch pattern is very pretty with all those fans. Hope you enjoy it! I recommend a yarn that isn’t too busy to show it off. But you probably knew that 🙂

  2. September 4, 2013 11:59 am

    Love the yarn and the sock pattern–such a lovely combination! I love Malabrigo Sock but I have yet to knit socks with it.

    • September 4, 2013 1:00 pm

      Thanks! The yarn is pretty dreamy. Nice and round. Hope you give it a try soon. My next sock are the same yarn in a steely blue color. Can’t wait!

  3. September 4, 2013 3:23 pm

    LOVE the colour you chose and such a pretty pattern. I have become obsessed with socks it seems after I finally took the plunge and knit my first pair.

Leave a Reply

