Skip to content

Thrifted Restaurant Coffee Cups

October 2, 2012

Laura’s Blog Entry

Can one ever have too many cups? I say probably, yes, but I plan to push to see where that boundary might be. Right now the limit seems to be the size of the cabinet. Luckily these new cups stack so I could squeeeeeze them in. Whew!

I really like the simplicity of restaurant dishware. These are a contemporary style and very thick. They keep my tea hot longer, which is a big deal. Thin cups are pretty, but useless.

These were found on a recent family thrifting trip to find Mari’s cosplay and Halloween costume as the Eleventh Doctor.

Definitions –

Cosplay: Dress up events for grown ups.

Eleventh Doctor: As in “Doctor Who,” the current Matt Smith version.

We are supportive of fandom obsessions, but cheap! Luckily we got the basics for her outfit.

The cups were half price, so all four were… wait for it… one dollar! Score! Happiness! Joy!

I enjoy thrifting way more that I probably should. The way I keep it in check is to generally buy things I need anyway. Like containers for organization or vintage sheets for quilting. The cups were not in this category, but hey, I only spent a dollar.

Getting the itch to go on another quest. I’m going to do some candlemaking, so I need to score some equipment for as little money as possible. Can’t wait!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2012 4:22 pm

    I love that you have a kid who wants to dress as The Doctor. Clearly, you are doing something right. 🙂

    • October 2, 2012 4:39 pm

      Ha! Thanks, Brian! She found “Doctor Who” on her own, but we have all embraced it. Two of her friends are dressing as two of the other doctors with her for Halloween. Brilliant!

Leave a Reply

