Skip to content

Yarn Along – 8/8/12

August 8, 2012

Laura’s Blog Entry

I am knee deep in four knitting projects. This one was started on vacation and is crawling along on a 299 stitch row width. Well, technically it is decreasing with some short row shaping right now, but the rows still seem long. Can’t wait to get to the lace chart. The pattern is the Tower Mill Shawl by Laura Chau. Another fine pattern by one of my favorite knitwear designers. The yarn is KnitPicks Swish DK in Garnet Heather. It’s soft and squishy as all get out. Deep red with hints of black. Should be perfect for fall.

The latest book I’m reading is To Say Nothing of the Dog by Connie Willis. It’s a Sci Fi time travel story that takes place in England. What’s not to love? Just started, so we shall see. So far it is very clever and funny. A nice contrast to my last read, American Gods by Neil Gaiman. I liked it a lot, but it was dark and challenging. (If you want to read my thoughts on it I wrote a review on Goodreads.) I’m ready for a little lighthearted space-time continuum disruption!

Check out Ginny’s blog for other Yarn Along blog participants.This is an especially interesting week there because Ginny’s husband writes about how he has started knitting. Oh my! Perhaps I can convince Neil! What do you think?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2012 12:25 pm

    Those are very long rows indeed. I finished a blanket a while back that had I don’t know how many stitches but took forever to finish a row. I was glad to be finished with that project!

    • August 8, 2012 1:07 pm

      They seem never ending. Although not as long as the Citron shawl which I made bigger so it was over 400! Yikes! I try to do 2 rows a day and it seems to chip away at it.

Leave a Reply

