Skip to content

Yarn Along 7/4/12

July 4, 2012

Laura’s Blog Entry

Today I join in Ginny’s Yarn Along. What are you reading and knitting?

Right now I am reading Kane & Abel. It’s the story of two men, born the same day, on opposite sides of the world. It was interesting seeing their very different lives start to overlap. I enjoy period fiction. This starts around the turn of the century but apparently goes three generations into the future.

The knitting is pretty obvious for any “Doctor Who” fans. It’s a pair of Tardis Socks (Ravelry link) for Mari. The Tardis is the time machine used by the Doctor. It is disguised as a British police call box. Because nothing blends better in ancient Pompeii than a blue police box! I incorporated lots of modifications at the suggestion of many on Ravelry. I hope I can keep track of them all to list in the project notes when I am done! I love the look of the socks. Colorwork is cool. [Yes, that was a “Doctor Who” reference.] If you haven’t tried it before, you should.

Biggest challenge is getting the proper tension when you are carrying the yarns along the inside of the sock – so the fabric remains stretchy. Once you figure that out it is all smooth sailing…

Allons-y!

[More “Doctor Who”. Somebody stop me!]

The main yarn is Knit Picks Stroll in color Sapphire Heather. It is the perfect shade of blue!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2012 10:02 am

    LOVE THOSE SOCKS!

    • July 4, 2012 10:34 am

      Thanks so much! I am rather jazzed about them myself!

      • July 4, 2012 6:12 pm

        I only got into Dr. Who with the eleventh doctor and love the show. Thank goodness for BBC America which has allowed me to go back and see the ninth and tenth doctors. 🙂

      • July 7, 2012 8:26 pm

        We only started this year – we decided to start with the 9th and work our way up. We are on series 5 right now. Never too late to start and no wrong place to begin. It is time travel, after all!

  2. July 4, 2012 1:17 pm

    I love the socks!
    My family are big Dr.fans, showed them your photo, they love them too! 😀
    x

    • July 4, 2012 1:24 pm

      Oh cool! It really is a family kind of thing. We all watch together and are up to season 5. Will be all ready in the fall for new episodes!

  3. July 4, 2012 2:15 pm

    That books sounds great! I’ll have to check it out when I finish what I’m currently reading.

    • July 4, 2012 2:59 pm

      I am reserving judgement until I finish it – there’s LOTS of tragedy in the first 1/2, which was kind of hard to read at times. It is keeping me interested. We shall see!

  4. July 7, 2012 7:44 pm

    O.M.G. Those socks are AMAZING!

Leave a Reply

