Skip to content

Guy Socks

June 19, 2012

Laura’s Blog Entry

So far, after three weeks of summer, I am calling it the summer of knitting. All I want to do is knit. You’d think the heat would put me off it. But no. All knitting. All the time. I’ll be sharing some finished items. If I can find the time. Cause I’m doing some spinning as well. And I don’t mean the fitness kind of spinning. Spinning yarn. It’s as dreamy as I imagined it would be. More on that later. Right now we are here to celebrate the completion of Neil’s first pair of handknit socks. No, Neil didn’t knit them, har har.

I gifted him the yarn in his Christmas stocking. I think that it was fitting that I finished them up on Father’s Day. Perhaps this could be a new tradition!

The pattern is Regular Guy Socks by Chuck Wright. It’s a free Ravelry download. They are knit from the toe up, which is pretty much my preferred method. I had a huge problem with heel as written. I cannot purl three stitches together and have it look nice. I ended up trying out a wrap and turn short row heel instead. It was OK. I don’t like look of the holes it leaves, but it seems nice and sturdy. I’m still searching for my favorite heel technique.

The yarn, Crystal Palace Panda Soy Solids in 3102 Pewter, is unfortunately discontinued. It makes a rather dreamy fabric, although it is REALLY splitty. The price you pay for a soft and cushy soy bamboo blend. There’s a touch of nylon for strength. We’ll see how it holds up.

I’m really happy how they turned out. They fit him like a glove. The final verdict will be after the first wearing. I know. You care barely wait for the outcome. Oh the suspense!


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

