Skip to content

Lacy Baktus Shawl

May 21, 2012

Laura’s Blog Entry

I am now officially a shawl convert. I had done a few simple ones as gifts in the past, but this was the second one I’ve done for myself. I am having a blast trying new shapes each time. This one is a garter stitch triangle with a simple eyelet row added. It’s called Lacy Baktus by Terhi Montonen.

There is a fine line between a small shawl and a scarf. OK, maybe there is no line between them. No problem. Ima just gonna keep knitting, K?

The yarn is Jojoland Melody Superwash, in color MS29. It is a lovely sock weight yarn with a looooooong color repeat. I used the same yarn for my cabled Celtic Knee Socks. I needed just over two balls for the shawl because I am kind of picky about the color changes. I didn’t want it to be obvious where I changed balls of yarn so I used a bit of a partial ball to bridge the gap. Looks pretty seamless.

I have also finished another gift shawl in the meantime, and plan to start another to give away, just as soon as I can get to the yarn store this week. Squee! It’s shawl fever!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Nicole permalink
    May 31, 2014 10:47 pm

    What size needles did you use?

    • June 1, 2014 12:14 pm

      I just checked my Ravelry page and for some reason I never recorded the needle size. I would guess that I used a size close to what the pattern calls for, which is a US 2 1/2 (3.0 mm). I probably did a 3, since I don’t own a 2 1/2. Sorry I can’t be more exacting! The pattern was originally done in fingering weight yarn, and since that is what I used, I probably didn’t stray too far on the needle size. Sorry I can’t be more helpful!

      • Nicole permalink
        June 6, 2014 12:11 pm

        Thank you! I knew I was doing something different. I was using a size 2 needle and my shawl was so small and compact. No wonder!

      • June 10, 2014 7:15 pm

        Oh good! Glad to help. Hope you are getting nicer gauge now!

Leave a Reply

