Skip to content

Yarn Along – 3/14/12

March 14, 2012

Laura’s Blog Entry

A new project and a new book for the yarn along this week! (Join Ginny over at Small Things for a complete list of everyone who is participating in the link party.)

I am just starting a new book, My Name is Asher Lev, by Chaim Potok. I am enjoying it so far. It’s interesting learning about Hasidic Judaism through the story. It’s about a young boy who grows to be an important artist. I am about a quarter of the way through and he is still a small boy. Quite interested where it is going to go… I’ve heard it gets into his creative process quite a bit. And you know how much I love talking about the creative process (or at least you know it now)!

My project is a simple scarf. I tried many stitch patterns and finally settled on garter stitch to show off the lovely color repeats. I bought the yarn on a whim on my first trip to a fairly new local yarn shop called “Hank.” It’s in the Hyde Park area and it is fantastic! It’s organized by yarn weight, which makes shopping for projects a dream.

The yarn I’m using is Malabrigo Rios in colorway Zarzamora. Sounds exotic, doesn’t it! I love it. Soft and squishy as well as beautiful. Here’s a link to the project in Ravelry if you want more details.


11 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    March 14, 2012 9:10 am

    Ooh that is a beautiful yarn! I learned a lot about Judaism from his book ‘the Chosen’. I was surprised how much I enjoyed it!

    • March 14, 2012 10:22 am

      Thanks! I think I read either The Chosen or The Promise back when I was in high school. Don’t remember anything about it, but I do remember enjoying it!

  2. March 14, 2012 9:14 am

    Beautiful colorway! I really liked reading Chaim Potok’s work. It was such an interesting window into a world so different than mine..

    • March 14, 2012 10:24 am

      Thanks! Yeah, I really like learning about the culture they live in. I made it almost half way through last night! I am thinking that I sincerely hope he gets some happiness at some point, LOL.

  3. March 14, 2012 11:23 am

    What an interesting book and something I think would be a great addition to our artist study.
    Love the yarn you are using for you scarf, it looks lovely!
    Happy yarn along!

    • March 14, 2012 11:31 am

      Thanks, Tracey! The book really gets into how he looks at the world – physically sees it – and translates that to a drawing. Interesting!

  4. March 14, 2012 4:31 pm

    I read that book several years ago and enjoyed it! The colors in the scarf are beautiful so I think you were wise in your pattern choice. It really shows off the yarn. Have a wonderful day!

  5. March 14, 2012 4:56 pm

    Lovely lovely yarn you are knitting with. You can never go wrong with garter stitch 🙂

  6. March 14, 2012 11:50 pm

    Wow, the colours in that yarn are beautiful. It does look squishy!

Leave a Reply

