Skip to content

Yarn Along – 2/22/12

February 22, 2012

Laura’s Blog Entry

Had so much fun last week with Ginny’s “Yarn Along” that I had to do it again. Who knows, I might just get regular with it. Unless I run out of new books and/or projects to share.

Click here to check out Ginny at Small Things.

This week I am working on another sweater. How crazy to be doing two sweaters at once! I had saved up for this one, and then got a gift card for Christmas so I went ahead and started on the one I featured last week.

This sweater is Simplicity by Mary Annarella. It’s a lace-weight, drapey yoga sweater that can be worn open or tied. The yarn is a dreamy baby alpaca and silk blend called, unsurprisingly, “Silky Alpaca Lace” by Classic Elite.

This is my first lace yarn project. Luckily I’ve heard quite a few podcasts about how to knit with such fine yarn, but there is a definite learning curve. Pointy needles are key. Also, I found that the increases on this were EXTREMELY difficult the first few rows, just due to the lightness of the yarn. I had to cast on a sample in a heavier yarn and bigger needles to practice the different increases. I just could not see them at first in the lace yarn. Once I figured out the anatomy, it went much more smoothly.

I also had to use small pieces of yarn as stitch markers because regular ones pulled and distorted the yarn too much.

It’s a slow-moving project, but I put a few rows on it each day. It should speed up considerably once the increases are done and it’s time to separate the arms from the body. At least that’s what I am telling myself.

You can see in the photo that I’ve had to write out the stitch count for each row so that I don’t mess up. It’s the only way I can keep everything correct. Tedious. But worth it.

In regards to the reading, I am about to start the first Maisie Dobbs novel. Do you like how I artfully blurred to book in the photo? So fancy. Can’t wait to escape into the world of the late 1920’s with this mysteries series!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2012 1:45 pm

    I haven’t knit lace in laceweight yet, but I want to, so I enjoyed reading your account of your first attempt!

    • February 22, 2012 4:34 pm

      The fabric is lovely, but it is a challenge! You might want to try it out on something small… I probably should have, LOL!

  2. February 22, 2012 2:59 pm

    The pattern is very pretty with the tie in front. Reminds me of a ballet wrap sweater. Yes, using lace yarn is hard on the eyes!

    • February 22, 2012 4:35 pm

      Yes, I always loved my daughter’s ballet sweaters. Perhaps that is what drew me to it. I may need new glasses by the time I’m done. I can only work on it in the daytime. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. February 22, 2012 4:40 pm

    You are a brave knitter! I have such a hard time with those finer projects. After looking at some of the posts on the yarn along, I looked back at my site and realized that I’m really partial to some pretty easy projects! Maybe I need to branch out.

    • February 22, 2012 4:53 pm

      Wow, I appreciate you saying that. I have been knitting for a while now and I do like to learn new techniques. I usually have something mindless going as well for my less lucid moments! Never a bad thing to branch out a bit and try something new, but keep it fun!

Leave a Reply

